Phillip Pinyan

Phillip Pinyan

| This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Get to know Heersink School of Medicine faculty and staff!

The Orientation Leaders (OLs) for your orientation week have been selected! They will be working hard to make sure your orientation is fun, informative, and welcoming. We will introduce the entire group through the final two editions of Vital Signs so you can get to know them before Orientation in July. Meet Group 1 in this page!

The Department of Medical Education lost a significant member of its family with the passing of Shawn Harmon, M.D., Ph.D., Clerkship Director of Montgomery Pediatrics. Dr. Harmon's colleagues and students share memories of their friend and describe the impact he leaves behind.

The Department of Medical Education mourns the recent passing of John Taylor, Director of Medical Education Information Services. Please join us in remembering and honoring the legacy John leaves behind.

As leaders from Heersink School of Medicine's House Staff Council complete their terms, they reflect on their time of service, the projects they are proud to take part in, and the future of House Staff Council leadership.

In May 2023, rising MS4 student Laura Minton Garton received travel scholarships from the Alabama Academy of Radiology and the UAB Caduceus Club for an advocacy trip to Capitol Hill.

Chere Stewart, M.D., is one of four faculty to earn the 2023 Dean's Excellence in Teaching Award. In this article, she reflects on her background in Heersink School of Medicine and on her current role as clerkship director.

On May 20, 2023, Heersink School of Medicine hosted its 2023 Commencement ceremony at Bartow Arena in Birmingham, Alabama to celebrate its 186 graduating medical students.

Heersink School of Medicine's 2023 student award recipients have been announced. Celebrations were hosted last week for each campus to honor award recipients.
Page 3 of 4