Three faculty were named to endowed chairs during the June 20 meeting of the University of Alabama System Board of Trustees: neurosurgeon James Markert, M.D.; radiologist Sharon Spencer, M.D.; and otolaryngologist Bradford Woodworth, M.D.

Markert, director of neurosurgery and co-director of the UAB Brain SPORE, now holds the James Garber Galbraith Endowed Chair of Neurosurgery. Markert is recognized as a national authority in the field of novel therapies, who has made major contributions to the field of neurology with his work with malignant gliomas.

Spencer, professor of radiation oncology, now is the Ruby F. Meredith Outstanding Clinician in Radiation Oncology Endowed Chair. Spencer is a noted expert in the field of head, neck, lung and breast cancer therapy. She is clinical director for UAB’s Department of Radiation Oncology and helps coordinate research and patient programs between her department and others, including medical oncology and surgery.

Woodworth, assistant professor of surgery in the Division of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, now holds the James Johnston Hicks Endowed Chair in Otolaryngology. Woodworth is a noted expert on sinus and nasal medicine. He came to UAB this year after completing a fellowship at the University of Pennsylvania in advanced sinus disease and minimally invasive surgery to repair or remove cerebrospinal fluid leaks and skull-base tumors.