Four UAB faculty members were awarded emeritus status at the June 20 meeting of the University of Alabama System Board of Trustees. The four are Cara Cushing Adams; Rodney C. P. Go, Ph.D; Richard B. Morawetz, M.D.; and Seng-jaw Soong, Ph.D.

Adams was appointed associate professor emerita in the department of physical therapy in the School of Health Professions. She joined the faculty in 1969. She was the 2005-2006winner of the Joseph F. Volker Award, given to an outstanding faculty member in the school of health professions.

Go joined the Department of Epidemiology in 1979. He was a professor from 1994 until his retirement in April, and he also was a senior scientist in the UAB Minority Health and Research Center.

Morawetz has been a faculty member in the Division of Neurosurgery since 1976. He is the director of the American Board of Neurological Surgeons.

Soong joined the Department of Biostatistics in 1976. He directed the biostatistics and bioinformatics unit of the UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center from 1979 until 2007.