Displaying items by tag:

Resident physicians play an immensely important role at every academic medical center in the country, and UAB is no exception.
Created in 1996, the Argus Awards give medical students the chance to honor their mentors, professors, courses and course directors for outstanding service to medical education. 
Bruce R. Korf, M.D., Ph.D., was recently named associate dean for Genomic Medicine in the School of Medicine. Korf currently serves as UAB Medicine’s chief genomics officer and holds the Wayne and Sara Crews Finley Endowed Chair in Medical Genetics. He will continue to hold both of those positions along with his new appointment.
As an academic medical center, diversity is absolutely essential for driving innovation, belonging, and success. In fact, it would be difficult to overstate the value that the many different types of diversity convey to our community or the importance of developing a culture of inclusion that gives our diversity scope.
First and foremost, I’d like to thank everyone who completed the ModernThink survey sent out earlier this year. The School of Medicine had an impressive participation rate of 46%, and I appreciate so many of you taking the time to thoughtfully respond.
Sara Mazzoni, M.D., MPH, associate professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, has been awarded the 2019 Brewer-Heslin Endowed Award for Professionalism in Medicine.

To pay tribute to Stephen G. Rostand, M.D.—a renowned investigator, longtime faculty member, and esteemed leader—the Division of Nephrology has renamed an existing endowed professorship to the Stephen G. Rostand, M.D., Endowed Professorship in Nephrology.

The New Neighbors League Club (NNLC) of Birmingham gave a $4,000 gift to the Alzheimer’s Research Program led by Jeremy Herskowitz, Ph.D., assistant professor in the UAB Department of Neurology. 

Here at UAB Medicine, we’re focused on cultivating a work environment that values wellness in each aspect of an individual’s life—be it emotional, physical, intellectual, social, or occupational. UAB Medicine leaders know that by creating programs and opportunities to support each of these facets of wellness, we’ll enhance our community in meaningful and lasting ways.

Sydney Mohr, MS3, was recently awarded the 2019 Sara Crews Finley, M.D., Leadership Scholarship, which provides full tuition for the third year of medical school and is renewable for the fourth year.

Page 6 of 132