Displaying items by tag: school of medicine

In the fall of 2020, James Harris, MS3, was compelled by the uncertainties of the pandemic to find ways to help homeless populations in Birmingham. He started Run 2 Rebuild, an organization that provides a support network, motivation, and physical fitness education to the men of Jimmie Hale Mission.

For Pride Month this June, the School of Medicine is showcasing the exceptional voices, programs, patient care, and research committed to improving the well-being of the LGBTQ+ community. To begin, Stephanie Perry, M.A., practice manager in the Department of Pediatrics, shares her story and discusses diversity and inclusion for LGBTQ+ individuals at UAB.

Tagged under

LGBTQ+ individuals need improved health outcomes, safety in patient care, and disease prevention. Excellent patient care means equity in care and protection from discrimination.

Tagged under

Candace Adedokun, M.D., is the president and founder of Dynamic Health—an organization committed to improving the health of individuals through personalized coaching and providing education to future physicians.

The School of Medicine is proud to announce the establishment of the UAB School of Medicine Immunology Institute, a cutting-edge and interdisciplinary hub for scientists who seek to advance the study of immunology and improve human health through immune-based therapies including vaccines.

For our final AAPI Heritage Month installment, Nabiha Yusuf, Ph.D., MSPH, associate professor in the Department of Dermatology, discusses her lineage, her values of equality, and why UAB’s emphasis on diversity is rewarding in her career.

Robin A.J. Lester, Ph.D., professor of Neurobiology, has been awarded the senior faculty 2021 Dean’s Excellence Award in Teaching.

Lauren Tanner, M.D., FACS, assistant professor in the Department of Surgery, is a junior faculty recipient of the 2021 Dean's Excellence Award for Service.

Sadis Matalon, Ph.D., Dr.Sc. (Hon.), FAPS, distinguished professor in the Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine, has been awarded the senior faculty 2021 Dean’s Excellence Award for Research.

Christine A. Curcio, Ph.D., professor in Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, has been awarded the senior faculty 2021 Dean’s Excellence Award for Research.

Page 10 of 145