Displaying items by tag:

For Women’s History Month this year, the School of Medicine is dedicated to celebrating the accomplishments, achievements, and successes of women over time. For Part 4, we focus on women currently making history in administration, diversity, and outreach.

Black History Month is a time to celebrate the achievements of Black/African American individuals, recognize the central role of the Black/African American community, and highlight the importance of racial justice and equity.

Ten faculty members in the School of Medicine have been named the 2021 class of James A. Pittman Jr., M.D., Scholars.

Victor M. Darley-Usmar, Ph.D., has been named senior associate dean for Research Compliance and Administration at the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine.

The COVID-19 Research Symposium was held on Oct. 28, and highlighted SARS-CoV-2 research and clinical trials.
Created in 1996, the Argus Awards give medical students the chance to honor their mentors, professors, courses and course directors for outstanding service to medical education.
The School of Medicine holds a remarkable 193 endowed chairs and 103 endowed professorship positions. These honors contribute to recruitment and retention of premier teachers, clinicians, and researchers. This year, 23 faculty members received endowments.

The School of Medicine communications staff sat down with Dr. Harrington to gain insights about her research, UAB, and the science community.

Sixteen outstanding faculty members have been named recipients of the 2020 Dean’s Excellence Awards in the areas of teaching, research, service, mentorship, and diversity.

Silvio H. Litovsky, M.D., professor in the Department of Pathology, has been awarded the senior faculty Dean’s Excellence in Teaching Award. He is an educator as well as a cardiovascular pathologist who has had an achievement-filled career since its start.

Page 1 of 8