Displaying items by tag: pittman

Five faculty members in the UAB School of Medicine have been named the 2018 class of James A. Pittman Jr., M.D., Scholars, a program created to recognize the contributions of junior faculty and support the recruitment and retention of highly competitive scientists and physician-scientists.
The School of Medicine is now accepting nominations for the 2018 Pittman Scholars, named for the late James A. Pittman, M.D. Department chairs can nominate junior faculty members based on their research achievements and potential for continued discovery in the basic or clinical sciences.
Pittman was dean from 1973 until 1992. Services will be held Thursday, Feb. 6.