December 01, 2017

Nominations open for 2018 Pittman Scholars

Written by

Nominations are now open for the 2018 Pittman Scholars, created in 2015 to recognize the contributions of junior faculty and support the recruitment and retention of highly competitive scientists and physician-scientists.pittman scholars 2017

The Pittman Scholars, named for the late James A. Pittman, M.D., longtime dean of the School of Medicine from 1973 to 1992, are nominated by their department chairs based on their research achievements and their potential for continued discovery in the basic or clinical sciences. Pittman is considered a principal architect of the School for his ability to recruit top scientists and physicians to UAB.

Five Pittman Scholars are selected each academic year. The selected class of scholars will receive $12,500 per year for five years to support the faculty member’s research-related activities or scholarly enrichment. An advisory committee will evaluate the Pittman Scholars and the progress of the program annually.

Nominated faculty should be full-time assistant professors in the School of Medicine within the first five years of their initial appointment at this rank. Any prior appointment as instructor does not count against the five-year limit. The primary responsibility of the scholars will be research, although teaching and some clinical duties (if appropriate) will also be included. Faculty members with highly competitive research programs judged by extramural funding and high-impact publications will be eligible.

Department chairs in the School of Medicine may nominate candidates for the Pittman Scholar program. Applications should include a cover letter (two-page maximum) from the department chair, the nominee’s resume and a one-page personal statement from the nominee as a single PDF file. Faculty interested in being nominated should speak with their department chair.

Deadline for applications is December 22, 2017. Final selections will be made by the AMC21 Executive Research Steering committee appointed by Selwyn M. Vickers, M.D., senior vice president for Medicine and dean of the School of Medicine.

For questions about this program or to submit nominations, please contact Executive Vice Dean Anupam Agarwal, M.D., at or Heather McGuire at