Displaying items by tag: school of medicine

The Heersink School of Medicine communications staff sat down with Dr. Adrie Steyn to gain insights about the research of this study, UAB, and the science community.

The University of Alabama at Birmingham Marnix E. Heersink School of Medicine celebrated its recent accreditation, the highest level of accreditation available to a medical school in the United States by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME), on Tuesday, Jan. 10.

On Wednesday, Jan. 25, Anupam Agarwal, M.D., interim senior vice president for Medicine and dean of the Heersink School of Medicine, presented the annual State of the School address in person at Margaret Cameron Spain Auditorium and via live stream.

Tagged under

Alan T. N. Tita, M.D., Ph.D., associate dean for Global and Women’s Health and inaugural director of the Mary Heersink Institute for Global Health was recently named the Mary Heersink Endowed Chair in Global Health.

Nominations for the 2023 Dean’s Excellence Awards are now open. This annually awarded honor is bestowed upon faculty who have made incredible contributions in the areas of service, teaching, research, mentorship, and diversity enhancement across the Heersink School of Medicine.
Tagged under
On Friday, January 13, I was honored to speak at the annual Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemoration Event, hosted by the Heersink School of Medicine Office for Diversity and Inclusion (ODI).
Tagged under

With the momentum we have made in only a year from the historic Heersink family gift, I am excited to see more benefits and positive outcomes as we move forward.

Tagged under
The Board of Trustees of The University of Alabama System recently approved the establishment of the Emmet O’Neal II Endowed Professorship in the O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at UAB. This endowed professorship, funded from the bequest of O’Neal Industries in memory of Emmet O’Neal II, will support lung cancer research. O’Neal Cancer Center Senior Scientist Suzanne Lapi, Ph.D., has been appointed as the first holder of this endowed professorship. 
Page 1 of 150