Displaying items by tag: heersink school of medicine

After a national search, Cristina Magi-Galluzzi, M.D., Ph.D., has been named chair of the Department of Pathology, effective March 4, 2024. Magi-Galluzzi is a professor and the director of the Division of Anatomic Pathology, and the director of Genitourinary Pathology in the Department of Pathology. She holds the C. Bruce Alexander Endowed Professorship in Pathology.

The Annual Martin Luther King Jr. Commemoration at UAB is hosted this year on Thursday, Jan. 18, from 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m. at Margaret Cameron Spain Auditorium, and the event will offer lunch to the first 100 guests.

On Dec. 6, 2023, the UAB Comprehensive Transplant Institute (CTI) announced a change in leadership. Jayme Locke, M.D., MPH, resigned her position as CTI director, and Clifton Kew, M.D., and Carlton Young, M.D., have been appointed as interim co-directors for the CTI. Both changes are effective as of Dec. 5, 2023.

Adam Agee has been named director of Information Technology for the Heersink School of Medicine, effective December 1, 2023. In this role, Agee leads Medical Education Information Services (MEIS) in its mission to guide, procure, develop, support, manage, and secure all aspects of information technology for the Heersink School of Medicine’s faculty, staff, and students.

After a national search, Justin Turner, M.D., Ph.D., has been named chair of the Department of Otolaryngology in the UAB Marnix E. Heersink School of Medicine, effective May 31, 2024. In this role, Turner will support the growth of the department; identify future opportunities and needs; and provide strategic leadership for all aspects of the department, including representing the department within the UAB enterprise, creating collaboration opportunities, and building bridges across the institution.

Native American Heritage Month is observed every November and serves as a reminder of the contributions and deep-rooted traditions of indigenous people, American Indians, and Alaska Natives.

Ryan Outman has been appointed executive officer for Finance and Administration for the Heersink School of Medicine effective December 1, 2023. He will report to Jason Daniel, senior executive officer for Finance and Administration and vice president, University of Alabama Health Services Foundation.

On Friday, Oct. 27, 2023, Heersink School of Medicine and UAB Health System leaders, faculty, staff, and supporters gathered in the new Heersink Active Learning Center at Volker Hall for the unveiling of the official portrait of former Senior Vice President for Medicine and Dean Selwyn Vickers, M.D., FACS.

The second event in the series is presented by Kellie Carter, Ph.D., senior leadership development specialist.

The Heersink School of Medicine Office for Diversity and Inclusion hosts a commemorative event for the 60th anniversary of the Civil Rights Movement.

Page 2 of 8