March 05, 2014

Allon wins Beathard Award from ASDIN

Written by
Michael Allon, M.D.Allon-pic-10-08, professor in the Division of Nephrology, was recently named the recipient of the Gerald Beathard Award by the American Society of Diagnostic and Interventional Nephrology (ASDIN).

The ASDIN bestows the award each year to an individual who has made major contributions to the field of dialysis vascular access. Allon, a UAB faculty member since 1990, has published more than 100 peer-reviewed manuscripts on various aspects of vascular access, has been awarded several grants from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases to study this research topic and has provided numerous invited lectures on this topic at national and international conferences.