The Division of Nephrology has a multi-disciplinary group of faculty that provides state-of-the-art clinical care, research in basic and clinical aspects of nephrology and transplantation, teaching, and disease management for patients with diverse types of kidney disease.

Founded in 1970 with Dr. Thomas E. Andreoli as the first Division Chief (1970-1979), the Division has grown to more than 40 faculty members involved in the delivery of patient care, teaching of residents and fellows, and research activities.

The Division of Nephrology is home to the NIDDK funded UAB-UCSD O'Brien Center for Acute Kidney Injury, one of 7 such Centers in the nation. The grant provides funding of $5.64 Million over 5 years to expand efforts to enhance translational research in acute kidney injury. We are proud to report that UAB's nationally ranked kidney disease program has once again been listed among the best in the country by U.S. News & World Report.

In January 2008, Anupam Agarwal, M.D., the Marie S. Ingalls Endowed Chair in Nephrology, became director of the Division of Nephrology.