James Dixon Johns has been awarded the 2018 Sara Crews Finley, M.D., Leadership Scholarship. The scholarship, awarded to third-year medical students who have excelled in academics, service, and leadership, will provide a full tuition for the third year of medical school and is renewable for the fourth year.
Richard Streiffer, M.D., will step down as dean of the College of Community Health Sciences at The University of Alabama at the end of the summer. He has served in that position since 2012 and was the seventh dean of the College of Community Health Sciences. He will remain on faculty as a professor of Family Medicine and will continue to contribute to UA, the UA School of Medicine and CCHS.
Todd Peterson, M.D., has been named assistant dean for students. In this role, Peterson will report to and work closely with the associate dean for students to provide career support, professional development and advising services for students during their 3rd and 4th years of medical school training
UAB's School of Medicine will hold its White Coat Ceremony for first-year medical students at 2 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 12, in the Alys Stephens Performing Arts Center, 1200 10th Ave. South.
Dr. Steven Theiss, M.D., the John D. Sherrill Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery and the Interim Chair of the UAB Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, has been elected to the membership committee of the American Orthopaedic Association for a five-year term.

The School of Medicine welcomed its first-year medical students with an orientation July 23-27. During the weeklong orientation, the 2018 incoming class enjoyed academic sessions from faculty members and breakout sessions led by a group of second-year medical students who served as orientation leaders.

The UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center (CCC) is leading organizations across the state in the Alabama HPV Vaccination Coalition, with the goal to address barriers and improve human papilloma virus (HPV) vaccination rates in Alabama.

Five UAB School of Medicine students completing their clinical educations at the Tuscaloosa Regional Campus are among the recipients of the new Blue Cross Blue Shield of Alabama primary care scholarships. Blue Cross provided $3.6 million to the School of Medicine for the primary care scholarships to train a total of 60 primary care physicians over five years.

Page 1 of 196