Anand Iyer, M.D., will receive UAB's Outstanding Young Alumni Award at the 2018 Alumni Leadership and Recognition Awards on Friday, Sept. 28, at 11:30 a.m. at the Alumni House. In 2017 Anand received the UAB Young Alumni Rising Star Award from the National Alumni Society.
The Cone brothers–Ryan Cone, M.D. (PGY-2) and Brent Cone, M.D. (PGY-1)–will have the same rotation at Highlands Hospital in January and February of 2019. They are both residents in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, and perhaps most notably, they are also identical twins.
Chandler and Amanda Stisher, two Huntsville Regional Medical Campus MS4 students, have been elected to positions within the American Academy of Family Physicians.
UAB is implementing a building safety plan that will allow more controlled access to campus facilities to provide increased security for faculty, staff, and students.
The GME Wellness Subcommittee, chaired by Brenessa Lindeman, M.D., has selected three projects to receive financial support through the GME Works for Well-Being initiative.
The Department of Medical Education and the Argus Society are pleased to announce the 2017 Argus Awards nominations. Winners will be announced at the Argus Awards Ceremony on at 5:30 p.m. on Friday, September 7, 2018 at the UAB Alumni House
On Sunday, Aug. 12, the UAB School of Medicine welcomed 186 students in the entering class of 2018 and presented them with their first white coats at the annual White Coat Ceremony at UAB’s Alys Stephens Performing Arts Center.
James Dixon Johns has been awarded the 2018 Sara Crews Finley, M.D., Leadership Scholarship. The scholarship, awarded to third-year medical students who have excelled in academics, service, and leadership, will provide a full tuition for the third year of medical school and is renewable for the fourth year.
Page 5 of 201