Talene Yacoubian, M.D., Ph.D, and William Geisler, M.D., MPH, have been named co-directors of the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) in the School of Medicine.

UAB honored seven Outstanding Women during a special ceremony on March 15 in the UAB Alumni House. Three of those women have strong ties to the School of Medicine.

Since his days as a student in the School of Medicine’s Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP), Sandeep Vaishnavi, M.D. ’02, Ph.D. ’00 has been studying a silent epidemic.
Mary T. Hawn, M.D., and Robin G. Lorenz, M.D., Ph.D., recently completed fellowships in the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine® program.
William M. Geisler, M.D., MPH, was recently named clinical associate director for the UAB Medical Scientist Training Program.
David Pollock, Ph.D., and Jennifer Pollock, Ph.D., will direct the new Translational Cardio-Renal Research section in Nephrology starting in early 2014.
Robin Lorenz, M.D., Ph.D., assistant dean for Physician-Scientist Education at the UAB School of Medicine, was recently named president of the Academy of Clinical Laboratory Physicians and Scientists.
Lorenz, director of the Medical Scientist Training Program, says physician-scientists can bridge the gap between lab discoveries and patient care.