Tehreem Khan

Tehreem Khan

| This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Theresa M. Caridi, M.D., associate professor of Radiology, and Daniel Cox, M.D., associate professor of Surgery, received the 2022 Brewer-Heslin Endowed Award for Professionalism in Medicine in recognition of their excellence in patient care.

The Heersink School of Medicine’s Chapter of the Association of Women Surgeons volunteered at the First Light Shelter, serving breakfast to homeless women and children while also mentoring high school girls interested in the medical field.

Medical student Hana Habchi has been awarded the 2022 Sara Crews M.D., Endowed Leadership Scholarship, which provides full tuition for the third year of medical school and is renewable for the fourth year. It recognizes excellence in academics, service, and leadership.

Because of the generosity of volunteers, the Community Free Clinic of Huntsville improves health care access and health of underserved communities. UAB Heersink School of Medicine’s faculty, trainees, and students join hands to serve underprivileged communities in Huntsville.

The UAB Heersink School of Medicine Office of Research introduces new faculty for Spring and Summer 2022. Please join Heersink School of Medicine and the Office of Research in welcoming these new faculty.

CEO and Dean Selwyn M. Vickers, M.D., FACS, hosted the recent Grand Rounds with Health and Wellbeing Activation Manager at Delta Air Lines, Anna Threadcraft. The presentation, titled “Workplace Wellbeing: Principles for cultivating an environment that thrives,” provided tools that help maintain well-being and encourage behaviors that can build a healthy workplace environment.

Frances Lund, Ph.D., founding director of the Immunology Institute and professor in the Department of Microbiology, is donating her transition party funds to the Blazer Kitchen. These gifts will allow the kitchen to continue its support to ongoing Blazer Kitchen shoppers and help fulfill its expanding needs.

Leadership of the Committee on Responsible Research Practices reminds investigators, both clinical and basic, of some of actions they can take to avoid making errors that can lead to research misconduct allegations. 

Jill Hancock, clinical research coordinator in the Lifespan Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center, found a connection to the local community in a unique way after moving to Birmingham from Louisiana—by volunteering at the Greater Birmingham Humane Society.

Eighteen faculty members across Heersink School of Medicine’s departments have received 2022 Dean’s Excellence Awards in recognition of excellence in the areas of teaching, research, service, mentorship, and diversity.

Page 1 of 2