May 23, 2022

18 Faculty named winners of the 2022 Dean’s Excellence Awards

Written by

dea 600Eighteen exceptional faculty members across Heersink School of Medicine’s departments have received 2022 Dean’s Excellence Awards in recognition of excellence in the areas of teaching, research, service, mentorship, and diversity.

Each year, faculty are nominated by their peers highlighting their contributions to the school. Nominees then go through a rigorous peer-review process to be selected as award recipients.

“It is a pleasure to announce and recognize the many contributions of the winners of this year’s Dean’s Excellence Awards,” says Selwyn M. Vickers, M.D., FACS, dean of the UAB Heersink School of Medicine, CEO of the UAB Health System and CEO of the UAB/Ascension St. Vincent’s Alliance.

“These awards recognize our faculty’s outstanding work across key mission areas. Each recipient has exemplified a profound impact on the Heersink School of Medicine and the local community. Despite challenges posed by COVID-19 and other health disparities, each winner went above and beyond in their efforts, contributing to excellence of our enterprise.”

Click the name of each 2022 Dean’s Excellence Award winner to read about their accomplishments.


Erin Snyder, M.D. | Senior Faculty

Shawn Galin, Ph.D. | Senior Faculty

Teresa Wilborn, Ph.D. | Senior Faculty

Marissa Dean, M.D. | Junior Faculty

Sheetal Gandotra, M.D. | Junior Faculty


Yogesh Dwivedi, Ph.D. | Senior Faculty

Nita Limdi, Pharm.D., Ph.D., | Senior Faculty

Kelly Hyndman, Ph.D. | Junior Faculty

Anna Sorace, Ph.D.| Junior Faculty


Eric Wallace, M.D. | Senior Faculty

Tiffani Maycock, D.O. | Senior Faculty

Nathaniel Erdmann, M.D., Ph.D. | Junior Faculty

Megan Hays, Ph.D. | Junior Faculty


Edwin Blalock, Ph.D. | Senior Faculty

Elizabeth Beierle, M.D. | Senior Faculty

Cristin Gavin, Ph.D. | Junior Faculty

Diversity Enhancement

Morissa Ladinsky, M.D. | Senior Faculty

KeAndrea Titer, M.D. | Junior Faculty