Kelsi Lindemann

Kelsi Lindemann

| This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Heersink School of Medicine Office of Research held its Annual Research Retreat on Tuesday, Feb. 6, at the UAB Alumni House. Research leadership from across Heersink, UAB Central Administration, other UAB schools, and Southern Research attended the retreat.

The UAB Marnix E. Heersink School of Medicine is pleased to announce the newest cohort of James A. Pittman Jr., M.D., Scholars.

Congratulations to all the UAB Heersink School of Medicine, UAB Medicine, UAB Health System, and Health Service Foundation leaders who were recognized on the Who’s Who in Healthcare list!

Desalyn Johnson, fourth year Heersink student, has received the Jefferson Underwood Minority Scholarship Award. The Medical Association of the State of Alabama (MASA) presented Johnson with her award at their Oct. 19 meeting in Montgomery.

Nine Heersink staff members were honored at the 2023 Dean’s Excellence Awards for Staff reception. Recipients, guests, and Heersink leaders gathered in the Wallace Tumor Institute Lobby on Sept. 14 to celebrate the inaugural group of honorees. Read about this year's honorees and see photos from the reception.

Emily Knighton-Akins, program manager I in the Heersink Office of Strategic Leadership Recruitment, has been selected as a recipient of the inaugural Dean’s Excellence Awards for Staff.

Paula Clawson, rural program coordinator for the Office of Family Health Education and Research at the Huntsville Regional Medical Campus, has been selected as a recipient of the inaugural Dean’s Excellence Awards for Staff.

Jamil Saad, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Microbiology, has been awarded an R37 Method to Extend Research in Time (MERIT) Award for his continued work with human immunodeficiency virus type 1 (HIV-1).
National Advanced Practice Provider (APP) Week, recognized Sept. 25-29, honors the skill and hard work of nurse practitioners, nurse anesthetists, physician assistants, and nurse midwives while raising awareness about their unique roles in health care.

Heersink School of Medicine is proud to announce nine staff members have been selected as the inaugural Dean’s Excellence Awards for Staff winners.

Page 1 of 2