September 26, 2023

Photo gallery: Heersink staff honored at inaugural Dean’s Excellence Awards for Staff reception

Written by
DEA Staff Winners 2023 1

Nine Heersink staff members were honored at the 2023 Dean’s Excellence Awards for Staff reception. Recipients, guests, and Heersink leaders gathered in the Wallace Tumor Institute Lobby on Sept. 14 to celebrate the inaugural group of honorees.

The Heersink School of Medicine Dean’s Excellence Awards for Staff recognize and honor individual Heersink staff members who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments and significantly supported the school’s core mission areas of education, clinical care, and research.

During his opening remarks, Anupam Agarwal, M.D., dean of the Heersink School of Medicine, said, “UAB Medicine’s greatest resource is its people, and today’s awards are an important way to show our appreciation for our outstanding staff and the talent, skill, and dedication they pour into their work.” These honorees highlight the difference that staff can make through their contributions to the teams they work on and the school overall. They are the foundation of excellence and exemplify UAB Medicine’s values. Agarwal continued, “I am proud of each winner here today and am grateful for the impact their efforts have on our institution.” 

When asked what the implementation of the Dean’s Excellent Awards for Staff meant to her, Paula Clawson, a recipient of this year’s award, stated, “UAB faculty and staff went through a lot of changes of work circumstances because of COVID-19, and it has taken a long time to feel that we are back to ‘normal.’ This new staff award is a lovely gift from Dean Agarwal to further demonstrate the return to the school-wide excellence to which we all contribute.”

To learn more about the achievements of the 2023 Dean's Excellence Awards for Staff recipients, click on their names below.

April Agne, program director II, Department of Medicine, Division of Preventative Medicine

Donna Bailer, executive administrator, Department of Neurosurgery

Paula Clawson, rural program coordinator, Huntsville Regional Medical Campus, Office for Family Health Education and Research

Kristi Gidley, executive administrator, Department of Otolaryngology

Betsy Hopson, director of STEP/ School of Medicine Research, Department of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine

Emily Knighton-Akins, program manager I, Heersink Dean’s Office, Office of Strategic Leadership Recruitment

Jason Noah, director of the Student Success Program, Department of Medical Education, Division of Medical Student Services

Ryan Outman, executive administrator, Department of Family Medicine

Theresa Wright, administrative associate, Department of Pediatrics, Division of Hospital Medicine

Take a look at some pictures from the evening below. Click here to see more photos from the reception.