For more than 20 years, UAB has recognized the extraordinary contributions of outstanding women faculty, staff, students, administrators and those women in the community to whom we owe respect and gratitude. The Commission on the Status of Women is honored to accept nominations for the 2019 Outstanding Women Awards. Nominations are due by 5 p.m. Friday, Jan. 25.
Jayme Locke, M.D., MPH, FACS, FAST, has been named director of the UAB Comprehensive Transplant Institute (CTI). Locke’s responsibilities will include articulating the CTI’s vision and mission; creating a strategic plan to fulfill that vision and mission; monitoring the effectiveness of each transplant program; and appointing, supervising and developing CTI program directors.
In the world of medical research, physicians have relationships with many sorts of entities—hospitals, universities, pharmaceutical companies, corporations, nonprofit organizations and more. When an academic journal accepts a paper from a researcher or physician, that acceptance typically comes with the stipulation that the author(s) disclose absolutely any and all potential conflicts of interest.
The School of Medicine is seeking proposals from faculty to increase the capacity (e.g. integrated programs, databases, repositories, scope and output of existing research cores) and access to emerging technologies to accelerate research innovation and scientific discovery at UAB over the next decade.
Smita Bhatia, M.D., MPH, professor and vice chair for outcomes in the Department of Pediatrics and director of UAB’s Institute for Cancer Outcomes and Survivorship, has received the Northwestern Mutual Award for Excellence in Childhood Cancer Survivorship from The American Society of Pediatric Oncology/Hematology (ASPHO).
UAB International Medical Education (IME) has designed an engaging training elective in partnership with Chung Shan Medical University (CSMU) in Taiwan that includes all arrangements for flights, daily transportation, on-site support, housing and meals.
On Wednesday, Jan. 30 at noon, Selwyn M Vickers, M.D., FACS, senior vice president for Medicine and dean of the School of Medicine, will give the annual State of the School presentation. Please mark your calendars. Lunch will be provided while supplies last.
Three School of Medicine faculty projects were selected for AMC21 2018-2019 Multi-PI Awards. The purpose of these grants is to enable School of Medicine faculty members to organize and integrate multidisciplinary teams of accomplished investigators who will compete successfully for long-term support from funding agencies.
Page 1 of 202