Eleven outstanding faculty members were named recipients of the 2016 Dean’s Excellence Awards, an honor recognizing exceptional contributions made by School of Medicine faculty in service, teaching, research, diversity enhancement and mentorship.
The UAB Cancer Center has received a $29 million National Cancer Institute renewal grant and is re-designated as “comprehensive” with an outstanding rating as a leader in advancing cancer research and care.
UAB School of Medicine faculty, residents and students are invited to participate in a qualitative research study of physicians and learners with disabilities to better understand their lived experiences during medical training.
Chandra Ellis, M.D., assistant professor in the Division of Acute Care Surgery, has been named director of the UAB Burn Service.
173 students graduated in the Class of 2016 during the annual Commencement Ceremony on Sunday, May 15 at Bartow Arena.
School of Medicine leaders shared results of the Association of American Medical Colleges' Diversity Engagement Survey with medical students at a retreat on Monday, May 16. 
George Jabboure Netto, M.D., an internationally recognized clinician-scientist, has been named chair of the Department of Pathology.
Big data provides insight into patient readmission after pediatric neurosurgery.