Displaying items by tag: Department of Microbiology

The School of Medicine communications staff sat down with Dr. Niederweis to gain insights about his research, UAB, and the science community.

For Part 2 of our AAPI Heritage series, Hubert Tse, Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of Microbiology, shares his story of lineage, how he celebrates his heritage, and why diversity is important in his department.

On March 25, 2020, the School of Medicine and the Hugh Kaul Precision Medicine Institute issued a request for applications that would change the course of research at UAB. A year later, the 14 selected projects have led to new discoveries, subsequent funding, high impact publications, and much more.

Amy Weinmann, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Microbiology, has been selected as chair of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Cellular and Molecular Immunology – B Study Section (CMIB).
Carlos Orihuela, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Microbiology and vice chair of Faculty Development, has been nominated and selected as a Distinguished Lecturer for the American Society of Microbiology (ASM) for the years 2020-2022.
Page 3 of 10