O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at UAB presents ArtBLINK Gala 2019

The O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at UAB will hold the annual ArtBLINK Gala to support high-priority research.
ArtJoomlaArtists will create spectacular works of art in the blink of an eye during the O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center’s 34th annual ArtBLINK Gala at 6:30 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 2, in The Kirklin Clinic of UAB Hospital, located at 2000 Sixth Ave. South.

As one of Birmingham’s premier events, the elegant evening features local artists who create masterpieces in 90 minutes, a silent auction, artists gallery, cocktail dinner provided by IZ Catering, and a night of dancing with live music from The Schmohawks. Funds from the Gala go toward the Cancer Center’s Fund for Excellence, which supports high-priority research efforts including launching young investigators in cancer research or recruiting new faculty.  

Often referred to as Alabama’s cancer center, the O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at UAB is a national leader in research and treatment. Its comprehensive designation, awarded by the National Cancer Institute, is held by only 49 institutions in the country. UAB’s cancer center was one of the first eight comprehensive cancer centers in the United States and has held this designation continuously for the past 45 years.

“Philanthropic support from the community through our ArtBLINK Gala provides us with the critical seed money to investigate drugs and develop treatments that we can quickly and safely move to our patients,” said Michael Birrer, M.D., Ph.D., director of the O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center. “We have witnessed a virtual explosion in our knowledge of cancer at its molecular and genomic levels, and philanthropic giving also provides us the flexible funds that allow us the ability to address the greatest research needs as they are presented.”

Local artists include Ginnard Archibald and Joseph Longoria, Ahmad Austin, Melissa Payne Baker, Dr. Pam Benoit, Sally Waldrup Boyd, Gary Chapman, Joan Curtis, Vicki Denaburg, Lynthia Edwards, Thomas Findlay, Gina Hurry, Carrie Pittman, Linda Ellen Price, Michael Swann, Sherri Van Pelt, Paul Ware, Sarah Soule Webb, Robine Wright, and Natalie Russo Zoghby.

Admission is $150 per person. For more information, visit www.artblink.org. Purchase tickets online, or call 205-934-1603. Dress is black-tie-optional. Valet service and deck parking are available for guests.

Presenting partners include AutoTec, O’Neal Industries, Protective Life Corporation and Regions Bank.