People of UAB - News
UAB College of Arts and Sciences undergraduate student Rose Albert has been awarded the Udall Scholarship, one of 55 winners nationwide.
Getting through professional school can be a marathon. Honor the accomplishments of the School of Optometry’s Class of 2020 by participating in its marathon challenge.
Angie Toluhi, a physician who championed a number of initiatives to improve the health of mothers and children in her home country, will complete her UAB training before returning to her native Nigeria to continue her work.
One UAB student conquered her circumstances with dedication and grace in order to graduate in spring 2020.
UAB’s Brian Pillay utilizes resources to develop PPE for local community employees.
UAB’s School of Engineering is honored to recognize three students as the first women to graduate from the school with engineering doctoral degrees.
UAB allowed Honors College student Sharan Kaur to showcase her culture and educate others through her role as co-president of the Indian Cultural Association, she says.
UAB School of Nursing alumna answered the call for help in New York City, where she is now caring for patients with COVID-19.
The field of orthopaedics is dominated by men, but one female UAB fellow in orthopaedics is a trendsetter.
Jim McClintock, Ph.D., shares his journey from Antarctica back to the United States in the midst of a global pandemic.
Hafiz Chandiwala, a UAB alumnus, has been named the 2019-2020 Business Information Professional of the Year for his contributions to his industry.
Michael Savage’s F32 grant will be used to study how the basic building blocks of vision and color selectivity can be used to help people with visual deficits.
Patrick Young will combine his passion for dentistry with the business tools necessary to navigate the health care system.
Successful entrepreneur will lead Innovation Depot as CEO.
UAB Honors College undergraduate student Whitman “Whit” Miller has been named a Truman Scholarship Award winner, one of 62 winners nationwide.
UAB engineering students receive scholarships for demonstrating excellence and commitment in the Society of Women Engineers and their communities.
Mirjam-Colette Kempf, Ph.D., MPH, is serving on the Jefferson County COVID-19 Task Force.
A UAB professor and author has made history as the first recipient of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship from UAB and the state of Alabama.
Queenisha Crichlow will use the fellowship to study the impact of racial discrimination on adolescent health and psychosocial adjustment.

Sincich’s R01 grant has been renewed, allowing him to continue his research on the implementation of adaptive optics retinal imaging and cell-targeted photostimulation. Alternative summary: Sincich’s R01 grant has been renewed, allowing him to continue his research that could help detect earlier stages of retinal disease for patients.

Honors student Parker Rose is UAB’s first recipient of the Beinecke Scholarship to pursue graduate education, established in 1975.

Through a partnership with Frontline Foods, students are independently supporting local clinicians in the fight to keep our communities safe, while simultaneously supporting Birmingham’s local restaurant industry. 

Sarah Nealy and Georgia Haggard have been named 2020 Goldwater Scholars for continuing paths in the field of STEM.

Kecia M. Thomas will join UAB as the dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Jeffrey W. Holmes will join UAB as the seventh dean of the School of Engineering.
Worried about how you will manage life changes brought on by coronavirus? Hear from a UAB doctor — and parent — how she is planning to do it.

A champion of quality physical education, Sims has received the highest honor from SHAPE America Southern District.

Civic engagement and innovation continue to be at the forefront of Hood’s mission to educate the next generation.
Two psychology students have been invited to a unique fellowship highlighting addiction recovery and cultivating leaders on college campuses across the United States.
Demetria P. Scott was awarded for her continuous efforts in the area of diversity and inclusion at the Minority in Business Awards 2020.
Page 11 of 53