Advanced special topics course in metabolomics 2020
(GBSC 724)

Course Description

Course will be held on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays 9-10:30 am in the SHELBY 1015

Tentative Schedule

Date Lecturer Topic
Jan 13, Mon S. Barnes Transition from metabolism to metabolomics and targeted/untargeted approaches [PDF File]
Jan 15, Wed S. Barnes The extraordinary chemistry of the metabolome [PDF File]
Jan 17, Fri H Tiwari Designing a complex metabolomics experiment [PDF File]
Jan 20, Mon   Martin Luther King Holiday
Jan 22, Wed W. Placzek The platform - fundamentals in NMR and metabolomics
Jan 24, Fri J. Prasain Extracting the metabolome (fluids, cells and tissues)
Jan 27, Mon S. Barnes The platform - GC- and LC-mass spectrometry
Jan 29, Wed D. Sharer Targeted metabolomics for congenital disease in children
Jan 31, Fri S. Barnes MZmine hands-on – bring PC
Feb 3, Mon S. Barnes Uploading GC-MS and LC-MS data to XCMSonline
Feb 5, Wed S. Barnes Evaluating XCMS analysis
Feb 7, Fri S. Barnes Output of XCMS features for univariate analysis
Feb 10, Mon S. Barnes Statistical analysis of XCMS data with MetaboAnalyst
Feb 12, Wed S. Barnes MS-DIAL 2.0 – a comprehensive metabolomics tool – bring PC
Feb 14, Fri W. Placzek Processing NMR data
Feb 17, Mon S. Barnes MS-DIAL 2.0 – a comprehensive metabolomics tool – bring PC
Feb 19, Wed S. Barnes The TMAO story and follow up
Feb 21, Fri S. Barnes Pathway databases
Feb 24, Mon S. Barnes The metabolomics workbench
Feb 26, Wed S. Barnes TBA
Feb 28, Fri Student presentations
Mar 2, Mon J. Prasain MSMS of small molecules - interpretation
Mar 4, Wed J. Prasain Validating metabolites
Mar 6, Fri S. Barnes Mummichog analysis of data
Mar 9, Mon C. Beecher* Isotope Ratio Outlier Analysis (IROA)
Mar 11, Wed S. Barnes Isotopes and pathway dynamics
Mar 13, Fri   Student presentations
Mar 16, Mon J. Prasain SWATH-MS, Ion Mobility and LC-MS for lipidomics
Mar18, Wed J. Prasain Lipid maps database
Mar 20, Fri J Kabarowski Lipid imaging-mass spectrometry
Mar 23, Mon J. Prasain Novel prostanoid molecules
Mar 25, Wed M. Stoll Metabolomics in pediatric arthritis
Mar 27, Fri   Student presentations
Mar 30, Mon K. Uppal** Integrating the metabolome with the genome, transcriptome and proteome
Apr 1, Wed Jia Li The drug exposome in a clinical trial
Apr 3, Fri S. Barnes In situ lipidomics in the surgical suite
Apr 10, Fri   FINAL exam due

At this time, the standalone software we will use, ABC, MS-DIAL. MSConvert and MZmine, work only on a PC. MZmine used to be usable on a Mac, but new Mac OS (10.15.1 Catalina) has made it impossible due to security issues.

*IROA Technologies
** Emory University