UAB's Got Talent

The Office of Student Involvement and Leadership hosted its 16th annual Student Excellence Awards ceremony on Saturday, April 2, 2022. The event was co-hosted by Elizabeth Miller, Miss UAB 2022, and Ritika Samant, USGA President for 2022-2023.

The Student Excellence Awards program was designed to celebrate the accomplishments of students, staff and student organizations within the UAB community. Winners were selected by a panel of judges from various University departments.

Award categories and recipients were as follows:

  • Excellence In Service | Reshu Chandra
  • Social Change | Hassanatu Blake
  • Inclusive Campus Commitment | Chelsea Jones
  • Outstanding Graduate Scholastic Achievement | Queenisha Crichlow
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Scholastic Achievement | Reuben Burch
  • Student Employee of the Year | Kyla Gabriel
  • Rising Star | Kian Kolahdouzan
  • Commitment to Community Engagement | Birmingham Robotics Initiative
  • Campus Impact Award | University Programs Board, Blazer Spirit Council and Queer Peers for Fall Fest
  • Outstanding New Organization | Mental Health Ambassadors
  • Student Organization Advisor of the Year | Deborah Ejem
  • Supervisor of the Year | Rachelle Lawhorn
  • Outstanding Student Organization | Club Lacrosse at UAB
  • Outstanding Student Leader | Bessie Gaspar and Angela Lee


In addition, the following scholarships were also distributed:

  • Epsilon Phi Chapter of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity Endowed Scholarship | Chad Guzman and Elliott Hernandez
  • Aaron L. Lamar, Jr. Student Leadership Scholarship | Ritika Samant
  • Camille Armstrong Endowed Scholarship | Alisha Daniels, Cameron Bledsoe and Anthony Nettles
  • UAB Emerging Leaders Scholarship | Jamie Nguyen, Sarah Van Winkle, Syed Raza and Chattada Viriyaphap

For more information about Student Involvement and Leadership,click here.