About The Alliance Progress Made Our Scholarship Campus Resources Community Resources

The Alliance Announces Its 2012 Scholarship Winners

Aug. 7, 2012
Jared Allen BashJared Allen Bash

The Alliance for LGBT Equality at UAB is pleased to announce that the Alliance awarded two scholarships in the amount of $1,000 each for the 2012/2013 academic year.

One of the scholarships was awarded to incoming freshman Jared Allen Bash. Jared has an outstanding academic record from the Alabama School of Fine Arts (ASFA), from which he graduated last May. He was Principal Trombone of the ASFA Orchestra, and also performed in the Alabama Symphony Youth Orchestra and the All-State Orchestra. While at ASFA Jared became actively involved in their GSSA, became co-president of the group, and, as such, successfully led the group for a year.

While in the 10th grade, Jared resurrected the then-defunct Birmingham Alliance of Gay, Straight, and Lesbian Youth (BAGSLY) and led it for four years. During his tenure as a BAGSLY leader, the group organized and held two Pride Proms, participated in Pride Skate, Pride Parade, AIDS Walk, and many other LGBT community events. Jared is a first generation college student who will be majoring in Computer Science and French at UAB.

UAB senior Bri Nicole Bruce received the other scholarship. She studied at George Washington University, where she became actively involved in their LGBT student organization. Bri transferred to UAB in 2009. She has maintained a perfect 4.0 GPA while attending UAB, and has been awarded numerous academic honors. All the while supporting herself through a variety of work experiences.

Bri has been actively involved in UAB’s Gay/Straight Student Alliance (GSSA), has served on their Executive Board, is currently Vice President of the organization, and has been described as one who was always “stepped up to help.” Bri majors in English, with a concentration in English Literature and expects to graduate in May, 2013. For her senior honors thesis she is writing a novel with LGBT characters.


The Alliance hosted a reception for Ms. Bruce and Mr. Bash on Thursday, August 30th, 2012. Dr. Linda C. Lucas, Provost of UAB, presented the awards. Refreshments were provided by UAB Safe Zone.

For information about donating to some deserving student's future, visit Our Scholarship.