Auburn University








Auburn University is one of the largest universities in the South, prevailing at the educational forefront with our emphasis on a blend of arts and applied sciences. The university continuously changes to accommodate today's needs, while still respecting the traditions and spirit of Auburn. As we grow and change, Auburn will always continue its tradition of excellence.

The main campus had an enrollment during fall of 2006 of 23,333. Auburn University offers degrees in 13 schools and colleges at the undergraduate, graduate and professional levels.

The Alabama Louis Stokes Alliance
for Minority Participation

Dr. Jay Gogue


Center, a collaborative Engineering/Business outreach unit, performs hundreds of projects annually for state industry, generating millions of dollars in increased efficiencies and saving or creating hundreds of jobs statewide.

In U.S. News & World Report’s issue of America’s Best Colleges 2006, Auburn University is ranked 38th among the top 50 national public universities and the highest in Alabama.

I believe in education, which gives me the knowledge to work wisely and trains my mind and my hands to work skillfully. -from the Auburn Creed

Chartered in 1856, Auburn University opened in 1859 and became affiliated with the Methodist Church. Over the years, the institution has had four official names: East Alabama Male College, Agricultural and Mechanical College, Alabama Polytechnic Institute and presently, Auburn University.

Accounts since the 19th century show that, regardless of the official name, the state's land grant university has always been known as Auburn, a name taken by the Lee County community from Oliver Goldsmith poem, "The Deserted Village." The poem includes the line, "Sweet Auburn, loveliest village of the plain."  A 1,

single, four-story building was completed at a cost of $11,000 in 1859; 80 students, with a faculty of five, enrolled. The building was destroyed by a fire in 1887, but was replaced on the same site in 1888 by what is known now as Samford Hall, named after Govenor William J. Samford. Today, Samford Hall serves as the administration headquarters.  The university is the oldest four year, coeducational school in the state and second oldest in the Southeast. Women were first admitted in 1892.
Auburn University is not only known for its great education, it also has notability for its impact on the state of Alabama. A recent study determined Auburn University had a nearly $4 billion economic impact on the state of Alabama, including a $1.5 billion impact on the economy and a $2.4 billion impact in "human capital." Auburn University’s Technical Assistance C