Name Dale C. Braungart Papers
Dates 1933-1934
Extent 0.30 cubic foot
Historical Note

Dale C. Braungart was born in Syracuse, New York, on June 7, 1912.  He obtained the A.B. degree from Syracuse University in 1933 and in the fall of 1933 matriculated at The University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa.  In the fall of 1934 Braungart was a member of the freshman class entering the medical school in Tuscaloosa.  The next year, he withdrew from the medical program but eventually Braungart obtained a master’s degree in biology from Alabama in 1938 the year after he received a faculty appointment in the Biology department at Catholic University of America in Washington, DC.  Braungart spent the remainder of his academic career at Catholic University.  In 1948 he was awarded a PhD in Biology from the University of Maryland.  Dr. Braungart eventually received the appointment as professor of Biology and from 1966 until 1971 served as chair of the department.  He was a member of numerous professional societies, was the author of several books, and authored numerous scientific papers.  He retired from Catholic University in the 1970s and died at his home in Chevy Chase, Maryland, on July 17, 2002.  Braungart never married and his obituary in the Washington Post indicated there were no immediate survivors.

Scope and Contents

Collection consists of 136 letters

Arrangement Arranged by recipient of the letter and then chronologically within that subset
Accession Number M2006-13
Provenance Donated to the UAB Archives following acquisition from an internet shopping site.
Copyright UAB maintains its proprietary rights to the item; the current holder of the copyrights to these materials is unknown.
Fnding Aid Printed descriptive guide by Tim L. Pennycuff available in repository.
Access Points

Braungart, Dale C.,  d  1912-2002.
Medical students  z  Alabama  z  Tuscaloosa.
University of Alabama.  b  School of Medicine.

Document Types


Location Manuscript Stacks
Related Series


Physical Condition Acid free folders in an acid free box.

This page created 2011

Copyright:  The University of Alabama Board of Trustees.