About CCSB
CCSB Mission
CCSB Members
Focus Groups
Frontiers Symposium
Research Highlights
Contact CCSB

External Advisory Committee

The External Advisory Committee (EAC) is made up of four computational and structural biologists. During July 7-9, 2003, the EAC visited UAB to assess the activities associated with the proposed CCSB. The committee, chaired by Dr. Stephen White of the University of California at Irvine, participated in a well-attended structural biology mini-symposium and held a series of meetings with key UAB scientists and administrators. The Committee reported an enthusiastic opinion of the vision of the Center. The EAC will convene again in FY 05/06 to evaluate the Center’s progress but with a revised committee make-up. The next committee will be comprised of two computational biologists and two bioinformaticians in order to better advise and assess how computational biology and bioinformatics are being integrated. The return of two previously participating committee members will provide continuity of the continuing assessment of the CCSB’s development, structure, and operations.

External Advisory Committee Members (2003)

Stephen H. White, Ph.D. (EAC Chair), Department of Physiology and Biophysics,

University of California at Irvine

John (Jack) E. Johnson, Ph. D., Professor of Molecular Biology,

The Scripps Research University

George N. Phillips, Jr., Ph.D., Professor of Biochemistry and Computer Sciences

University of Wisconsin— Madison

Alasdair C. Steven, Ph. D., Chief, Laboratory of Structural Biology Research

National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases



Copyright 2008 CCSB All Rights Reserved.