The UAB Diversity Advisory Council meets twice yearly to advise the Vice President for Equity and Diversity on matters related to diversity.

Diversity Advisory Council Representatives

Dr. Carolyn Braswell
Associate Vice President
Office for Equity and Diversity
Anita Clemon
HRM Administration
Dr. Louis Dale
Vice President
Office for Equity and Diversity
Dr. Nianjun Liu
Associate Professor
School of Public Health
Sylvia McAphee
Assistant Professor Serials Librarian
Lister Hill Library
Dr. George Munchus
School of Business
Dr. Kathleen G. Nelson
Associate Dean
School of Medicine
Dr. Bryan Noe
Graduate School Dean
Graduate School
Dennis Otali
Graduate Assistant
Biology Department

Satyam Patel

Undergrad Student
Materials Science and Engineering
Dr. James Raper
Associate Professor, President Alliance LGBT
Medicine and Nursing
Dr. Lourdes Sanchez-Lopez
Associate Professor Chair, Manos Juntas
College of Art and Sciences
Dr. Harlan Sands
Vice Provost for Admin. and Quality Improvement 
Office of the Provost

Caroline West

UAB Women's Center

Ferhat Zengul

Business Officer
UAB Hospital

Diversity Council Subcommittees
* Committe on Disabilities and Other Special Issues
Chair - Dr. Kathleen Nelson
Co-Chair - Dr. Bryan Noe
* Committee on Gender, Age and Equity Issues
Chair - Ms. Caroline West
Co - Chari - Ms. Sylvia McAphee
* Committee on LGBT Issues
Chair - Dr. James Raper
Co - Chair
* Committe on Race, Ethnicity and Religion Issues
Chair - Dr. Lourdes Sanchez-Lopez
Co - Chair - Mr. Ferhat Zengul