University of Alabama at Birmingham

Faculty Senate Meeting Agenda

March 11, 2008

Administration Building Penthouse CR1

7:30 9:30 a.m.



1.           Call to Order


2.           Recognition of Visitors Non-Members of Senate Please Sign Attendance Roster


3.           Taping Declaration Chair Requires Notification to All Attendees


4.           Approval of Minutes February 12, 2008 Faculty Senate Meeting


5.           Chair Report Chair Pat Greenup


6.           President Report President Carol Garrison


7.           Presentation Dr. Mark LaGory Intergroup Dialogue Initiative


8.           Presentation Dr. Marilyn Kurata Personal and Social Responsibility Inventory


9.           Discussion/Vote FPPC Policies and Procedures Library Proposal


10.       Discussion/Vote Fall Break Proposal


11.       Senate Standing Committees


a.            Curriculum and Research Senator Nasim Uddin

b.           Faculty Affairs Senator Mark Lockhart

c.            Faculty Policies and Procedures Senate Past-Chair Joe March

d.           Finance Senator Stephen Mennemeyer

e.            Governance and Operations Senator Pat Higginbottom

         Proposed Amendments to Senate Constitution and Bylaws


12.       Senate Representatives to University-wide Committees


a.            Academic Advising Committee Jeanne Hutchison

b.           Academic Programs Council Pat Greenup, Warren Martin, Nasim Uddin

c.            Athletic Advisory Committee William Cockerham

d.           Campus Planning Committee Stephen Mennemeyer, Nasim Uddin

e.            Commission on the Status of Women Joy Deupree

f.             Diversity Advisory Council Madelyn Coar

g.            Faculty Enrichment Committee Sue Kim, Chander Raman

h.            Fringe Benefits Committee Michael Humber, Warren Martin, Linda Reed

i.              Naming Committee Pat Greenup

j.             Police Advisory Council Tommie Singleton

k.           Undergraduate Programs Council Danny Siegel (A&H), Warren Martin (BUS), Melanie Shores (EDU), Nasim Uddin (ENG), Kay Clements (HP), Jeanne Hutchison (NSM), Ellen Buckner (NURS), Rex Wright (SBS)


13.       Open Forum


a.            Faculty Benefits Associated with Faculty Participation with Administrator Evaluations

b.           Traits of Effective Senates

c.            Blood Drive Update


14.       Announcements


a.            Next FPPC Meeting Administration Building Penthouse CR1 March 21, 2008

b.           Next Executive Committee Meeting March 26, 2008

c.            Next Executive Committee Meeting with President and Provost April 1, 2008

d.           Next Senate Meeting Administration Building Penthouse CR1 April 8, 2008


15.       Adjournment