University of Alabama at Birmingham

Faculty Senate Meeting Agenda

February 10, 2009

Administration Building Penthouse CR1

7:30 9:30 a.m.



1.           Call to Order


2.           Recognition of Visitors Non-Members of Senate Please Sign Attendance Roster


3.           Recording Declaration Notice that Recording of Senate Meeting is Not Permitted


4.           Approval of Minutes January 13, 2009 Faculty Senate Meeting


5.           Chair Report Chair Warren Martin


6.           President Report President Carol Garrison


7.           Presentation Center for Community Outreach Development Dr. Michael Wyss (CORD Director)


8.           Presentation Online Consulting/Conflict of Interest Disclosure Process Dr. Harlan Sands (Associate Provost for Administration and Finance)


9.           Presentation Higher Education Partnership and Higher Education Day Rally Mr. Gordon Stone (Executive Director of the Higher Education Partnership)


10.       Senate Standing Committees


a.           Curriculum and Research Senator Kay Clements

b.           Faculty Affairs Senator Stephen Moser

c.           Faculty Policies and Procedures Senate Past-Chair Pat Greenup

d.           Finance Senator Linda Reed

e.           Governance and Operations Senator Janelle Chiasera

             Revisions to Constitution and Bylaws Amendments from Provost


11.       Senate Representatives to University-wide Committees


a.            Academic Advising Committee Jeanne Hutchison

b.           Academic Programs Council Mark Lockhart, Warren Martin, Kay Clements

c.           Athletic Advisory Committee William Cockerham

d.          Campus Planning Committee Warren Martin, Linda Reed

e.           Commission on the Status of Women Joy Deupree

f.             Diversity Advisory Council Madelyn Coar

g.            Faculty Enrichment Committee Chander Raman, Rex Wright

h.            Fringe Benefits Committee Jeanne Hutchison, Linda Reed

i.              Naming Committee Warren Martin

j.             Undergraduate Programs Council Danny Siegel (A&H), Ted Bos (BUS), Melanie Shores (EDU), Sally Anne McInerny (ENG), Kay Clements (HP), Jeanne Hutchison (NSM), Ellen Buckner (NURS), Rex Wright (SBS)


12.       Open Forum


13.       Announcements


a.           Nominations for Senators and FPPC Representatives Due February 20, 2009

b.           Next FPPC Meeting Administration Building Penthouse CR1 February 20, 2009

c.           Next Executive Committee Meeting February 25, 2009

d.           Next Executive Committee Meeting with President and Provost March 3, 2009

e.           Next Senate Meeting Administration Building Penthouse CR1 March 10, 2009


14.       Adjournment