University of Alabama at Birmingham

Faculty Senate Meeting Agenda

January 13, 2009

Administration Building Penthouse CR1

7:30 9:30 a.m.



1.           Call to Order


2.           Recognition of Visitors Non-Members of Senate Please Sign Attendance Roster


3.           Recording Declaration Notice that Recording of Senate Meeting is Not Permitted


4.           Approval of Minutes December 9, 2008 Faculty Senate Meeting


5.           Chair Report Chair Warren Martin


6.           President Report President Carol Garrison


7.           Presentation UAB Health System Dr. Will Ferniany (CEO of the Health System)


8.           Presentation UAB Kirklin Clinic Acute Care Clinic Dr. Nancy Dunlap (Chief of Staff of the Kirklin Clinic)


9.           Senate Standing Committees


a.           Curriculum and Research Senator Sally Anne McInerny

b.           Faculty Affairs Senator Stephen Moser

c.           Faculty Policies and Procedures Senate Past-Chair Pat Greenup

d.           Finance Senator Linda Reed

e.           Governance and Operations Senator Janelle Chiasera


10.       Senate Representatives to University-wide Committees


a.            Academic Advising Committee Jeanne Hutchison

b.           Academic Programs Council Mark Lockhart, Warren Martin, Sally Anne McInerny

c.           Athletic Advisory Committee William Cockerham

d.           Campus Planning Committee Warren Martin, Linda Reed

e.            Commission on the Status of Women Joy Deupree

f.             Diversity Advisory Council Madelyn Coar

g.            Faculty Enrichment Committee Chander Raman, Rex Wright

h.            Fringe Benefits Committee Jeanne Hutchison, Linda Reed

i.              Naming Committee Warren Martin

j.             Undergraduate Programs Council Danny Siegel (A&H), Ted Bos (BUS), Melanie Shores (EDU), Sally Anne McInerny (ENG), Kay Clements (HP), Jeanne Hutchison (NSM), Ellen Buckner (NURS), Rex Wright (SBS)


11.       Open Forum


12.       Announcements


a.            Nominations for Senators and FPPC Representatives Due January 30, 2009

b.           Nominations for Senate Chair-Elect and Secretary Due January 30, 2009

c.           Next FPPC Meeting Administration Building Penthouse CR1 January 16, 2009

d.           Next Executive Committee Meeting January 28, 2009

e.           Next Executive Committee Meeting with President and Provost February 3, 2009

f.             Next Senate Meeting Administration Building Penthouse CR1 February 10, 2009


13.       Adjournment