University of Alabama at Birmingham

Faculty Senate Meeting Agenda

June 9, 2009

Administration Building Penthouse CR1

7:30 9:30 a.m.



1.           Call to Order


2.           Recognition of Visitors Non-Members of Senate Please Sign Attendance Roster


3.           Recording Declaration Notice that Recording of Senate Meeting is Not Permitted


4.           Approval of Minutes May 12, 2009 Faculty Senate Meeting


5.           Past-Chair Report Past-Chair Warren Martin


6.           Presentation of Distinguished Service Award


7.           Introduction of Chair Mark Lockhart for 2009-2010 and Transfer of Gavel


8.           Resolution Recognizing Chair Warren Martin for 2008-2009


9.           President Report President Carol Garrison


10.       Senator-at-Large and Past-Chair Elections


11.       Senate Standing Committees


a.            Curriculum and Research Senator Ellen Buckner

b.           Faculty Affairs Senator Sue Kim

c.            Faculty Policies and Procedures (First Reading) Senate Chair-Elect Mark Hickson

             Grievance Procedures in Academic Unit Handbooks Recommendation

d.           Finance Senator Jeanne Hutchison

e.            Governance and Operations Senator Janelle Chiasera


12.       Senate Representatives to University-wide Committees (Recommendations)


a.            Academic Advising Committee Jeanne Hutchison

b.           Academic Programs Council Mark Lockhart, Mark Hickson, Ellen Buckner

c.            Athletic Advisory Committee Tony Roberson

d.           Campus Planning Committee Ellen Buckner, Jeanne Hutchison

e.            Commission on the Status of Women Annette Wright

f.             Core Curriculum Steering Committee Dana Hettich, Chris Kyle

g.            Diversity Advisory Council Madelyn Coar

h.            Faculty Enrichment Committee Dana Hettich, Rex Wright

i.              Fringe Benefits Committee Jeanne Hutchison, Linda Reed

j.             Institutional Biosafety Committee Pat Greenup

k.           Radioisotope and Radiation Safety Committee Pat Greenup

l.              Undergraduate Programs Council John Moore (A&H), Julio Rivera (BUS), Cecilia Pierce (EDU), Sally Anne McInerny (ENG), Kay Clements (HP), Jeanne Hutchison (NSM), Ellen Buckner (NURS), Rex Wright (SBS)


13.       Open Forum


14.       Announcements


a.            Next FPPC Meeting Administration Building Penthouse CR1 June 19, 2009

b.           Next Executive Committee Meeting June 24, 2009

c.            Next Executive Committee Meeting with President and Provost July 7, 2009

d.           Next Senate Meeting Administration Building Penthouse CR1 July 14, 2009


15.       Adjournment


16.       Orientation for New Senators