University of Alabama at Birmingham

Faculty Senate Meeting Agenda

October 12, 2010

Administration Building Penthouse CR1

7:30 9:30 a.m.

 

 

1.     Call to Order

2.     Recognition of Visitors Non-Members of Senate Please Sign Attendance Roster

3.     Recording Declaration Notice that Recording of Senate Meeting is Not Permitted

4.     Approval of Minutes September 14, 2010 Faculty Senate Meeting

5.     Chair Report Chair Mark Hickson

6.     President Report President Carol Garrison

7.     Presentation Provost Eli Capilouto Provost Office Reorganization

8.     Presentation Dean Max Michael

9.     Open Forum

10.  Senate Standing Committees

 

a.     Faculty Affairs Senator Sue Kim Shared Governance Survey Report; IDEA Administrator Evaluations

b.     Finance Senator Jeanne Hutchison

 

 

11.  Reports - Senate Representatives to University Committees

 

12.  New Business

Faculty Forum October 1 Update

 

13.  Announcements

 

a.     Next FPPC Meeting Administration Building Penthouse CR1 October 15, 2010

b.     State of University Address October 21, 2010; HUC Auditorium; 3:30 pm

c.     Next Executive Committee Meeting October 27, 2010

d.     Next Executive Committee Meeting with President and Provost

November 2, 2010 [9 am]

e.     Next Senate Meeting Administration Building Penthouse CR1

November 9, 2010

 

14.  Adjournment

 

Executive Committee

Dr. Mark Hickson, Chair hickson@uab.edu;Dr. John Chatham Chair-Elect jchatham@uab.edu

Dr. Mark Lockhart Past-Chair mlockhar@uab.edu; Dr. Pat Greenup Secretary greenup@uab.edu

Dr. Majd Zayzafoon, Curriculum & Research Chair mzayzafoon@uab.edu; Dr. Sue Kim

Faculty Affairs Chair suekim@uab.edu; Dr. Kristi Menear FPPC Chair kmenear@uab.edu; Dr. Jeanne Hutchison Finance Chair hutchiso@uab.edu; Dr. Janelle Chiasera Governance & Operations Chair chiasera@uab.edu; Dr. Kent Kerley Senator-at-Large krkerley@uab.edu; Dr. Rose Scripa Senator-at-Large rscripa@uab.edu; Mr. Jeff Graveline Parliamentarian jgraveli@uab.edu; Ms. Carol Ray Senate Office Associate mcray@uab.edu

The University of Alabama at Birmingham

Senate Office Campbell Hall Room 410G

Birmingham, Al 35294-4370 (205) 934-6619 Fax (205) 934-6834