University of Alabama at Birmingham

Faculty Senate Meeting Agenda

September 14, 2010

Administration Building Penthouse CR1

7:30 9:30 a.m.

 

 

1.     Call to Order

2.     Recognition of Visitors Non-Members of Senate Please Sign Attendance Roster

3.     Recording Declaration Notice that Recording of Senate Meeting is Not Permitted

4.     Approval of Minutes August 10, 2010 Faculty Senate Meeting

5.     Chair Report Chair Mark Hickson

6.     President Report President Carol Garrison

7.     Presentation Dr. Pam Burks, Climate Survey

8.     Open Forum

9.     Senate Standing Committees

 

a.     Faculty Affairs Senator Sue Kim

b.    Finance Senator Jeanne Hutchison

 

c.     Governance and Operations Senator Janelle Chiasera [Second Reading Amendments Standing Committees; structure; FPPC election ] - VOTE

 

10.  Reports - Senate Representatives to University Committees

 

11.  New Business

         Senate Accomplishments 2009-2010

 

12.  Announcements

 

a.     Next Senate Meeting Administration Building Penthouse CR1

September 14, 2010

b.    Next FPPC Meeting Administration Building Penthouse CR1 September 17, 2010

c.     Next Executive Committee Meeting September 29, 2010

d.    Next Executive Committee Meeting with President and Provost

October 5, 2010 [9 am]

e.     Faculty Forum October 1, 2010; 4 pm; HHB 102

f.     State of University Address October 21, 2010; HUC Auditorium; 3:30 pm

 

13.  Adjournment

 

Executive Committee

Dr. Mark Hickson, Chair hickson@uab.edu;Dr. John Chatham Chair-Elect jchatham@uab.edu

Dr. Mark Lockhart Past-Chair mlockhar@uab.edu; Dr. Pat Greenup Secretary greenup@uab.edu

Dr. Majd Zayzafoon, Curriculum & Research Chair mzayzafoon@uab.edu; Dr. Sue Kim

Faculty Affairs Chair suekim@uab.edu; Dr. Kristi Menear FPPC Chair kmenear@uab.edu; Dr. Jeanne Hutchison Finance Chair hutchiso@uab.edu; Dr. Janelle Chiasera Governance & Operations Chair chiasera@uab.edu; Dr. Kent Kerley Senator-at-Large krkerley@uab.edu; Dr. Rose Scripa Senator-at-Large rscripa@uab.edu; Mr. Jeff Graveline Parliamentarian jgraveli@uab.edu; Ms. Carol Ray Senate Office Associate mcray@uab.edu

The University of Alabama at Birmingham

Senate Office Campbell Hall Room 410G

Birmingham, Al 35294-4370 (205) 934-6619 Fax (205) 934-6834