Three Endowed Optometry Scholarships Established

Scholarships will benefit future optometry students.
The University of Alabama System Board of Trustees approved the establishment of endowed optometry scholarships named for Drs. James and Robin Marbourg, Lynn Smith-Hammonds and the Whitewater Creek Symposia that will provide support for students in the UAB School of Optometry.

The Marbourg scholarship is for students who have indicated that they intend to practice optometry in a rural area. The Marbourgs both earned doctorates in optometry from UAB and are active with the school’s alumni association. James Marbourg is a UAB clinical associate professor.

Lynn Smith Hammonds, O.D., earned her doctor of optometry from UAB and completed her residency at the Birmingham Veterans Administration Medical Center in geriatric and low vision rehabilitation. She is a past president of the school’s alumni association and has held numerous other community optometric positions.

The members of the Whitewater Creek Seminar Group gather annually for a seminar and courses on the ocular system. Several members are UAB graduates.