Selwyn Vickers 7 LRSelwyn M. Vickers, M.D., FACSThis month, I’d like to introduce you to the 2016 winners of the Dean’s Excellence Awards, who were honored at a reception on campus this week. This is a program I reinstituted last year to recognize exceptional contributions made by School of Medicine faculty in the areas of service, teaching, research, diversity enhancement, and mentorship. Eleven outstanding faculty members were named recipients of the 2016 awards:

· J. Edwin Blalock, Ph.D., professor of medicine in the Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine, senior faculty winner for Research

· David E. Briles, Ph.D., professor of microbiology, senior faculty winner for Diversity Enhancement

· Samuel C. Cartner, D.V.M., Ph.D., professor of genetics, senior faculty winner for Service

· Latesha E. Elopre, M.D., instructor of medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases, junior faculty winner for Diversity Enhancement

· Kierstin C. Kennedy, M.D., MSHA, clinical assistant professor of medicine in the UAB Hospitalist Service, junior faculty winner for Service

· Jayme E. Locke, M.D., M.P.H., assistant professor of surgery, junior faculty winner for Research

· F. Stanford Massie Jr., M.D., FACP, professor of medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine, senior faculty winner for Teaching

· Lauren Nassetta, M.D., assistant professor of pediatrics in the Division of Pediatric Hospital Medicine, junior faculty winner for Teaching

· Jennifer S. Pollock, Ph.D., professor of medicine in the Division of Nephrology and co-director of the Cardio-Renal Physiology and Medicine Program, senior faculty winner for Mentoring

· Lauren A. Walter, M.D., assistant professor of emergency medicine, junior faculty winner for Mentoring

· Richard J. Whitley, M.D., Loeb Eminent Scholar Chair in Pediatrics, senior faculty winner for Research       

DEA Reception 2016 1From left: School of Medicine Executive Vice Dean Dr. Anupam Agarwal, Dean's Excellence Award Winner Dr. Kierstin Kennedy, Department of Medicine Chair Dr. Seth Landefeld, and School of Medicine Dean Dr. Selwyn Vickers.One of the most powerful tools we have for recruiting and retaining top faculty is endowed positions – not only do they offer recognition and honor for the holder, they also generate funds that support that person’s work, be it research, education, or patient care. The oldest endowed chair at UAB is the Ruth Lawson Hanson Endowed Chair in Diabetes and Metabolism, which Mrs. Hanson established in 1967 in memory of her late husband, the former Birmingham News owner and publisher Victor Hanson. The current holder of the chair is Stuart J. Frank, M.D., director of the Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism. “The way I view it is that the chair is entrusted to me,” says Dr. Frank. “I’m a temporary holder. It’s a gift of money but, in a sense, it is also a gift of time—the funding allows me to spend time on a mission.”

All of the faculty members honored with the Dean’s Excellence Awards have much to be proud of in their achievements here at UAB. We are lucky to have such creative, caring, and dedicated people investing their talents and energies in our School, and we are committed to supporting their success throughout their careers with us.


Selwyn M. Vickers, M.D., FACS
Senior Vice President for Medicine and Dean
James C. Lee Endowed Chair