Directory of MERIT Scholars, Mentors, and Important Contacts

 

A. Current MERIT Scholars

Name

Email

Phone

Department

Patrice Capers, Ph.D.

pcapers@uab.edu

(205) 975-9227 

Energetics

Michael P. Nelson, Ph.D. 

mpnelson@uab.edu  

(205) 996-5604 

Pathology 

Vyvyca Walker, Ph.D. 

vyvywalk@uab.edu

(205) 996-6690  

Medicine & Surgery 

 B. MERIT Research Mentors

Name

Email

Phone

Department

Anupam Agarwal, M.D.

Agarwal@uab.edu

(205) 996-6670

Pathology

David Allison, Ph.D.

DAllison@ms.soph.uab.edu

(205) 975-9169

Biostatistics

Namasivayam Ambalavanam, M.D.

ambal@uab.edu

(205) 996-5419

Peds - Neonatology

Shannon Bailey, Ph.D.

sbailey@uab.edu

(205) 934-7070

Environmental Health Services

Scott Ballinger, Ph.D.

sballing@uab.edu

(205) 934-4621

Pathology

Scott Barnum, Ph.D.

sbarnum@uab.edu

(205) 934-4972

Microbiology

Dave Bedwell, Ph.D.

dbedwell@uab.edu

(205) 934-6593

Microbiology

Mary-Ann Bjornsti, Ph.D.

Bjornsti@uab.edu

(205) 934-4579

Pharmacology and Toxicology

David Briles, Ph.D.

dbriles@uab.edu

(205) 934-4579

Microbiology

Dan Bullard, Ph.D.

dcbullard@uab.edu

(205) 934-7768

Genetics

John Chatham, Ph.D.

jchatham@uab.edu

(205) 934-0240

Med - Cardiovascular Disease

Jim Collawn, Ph.D.

jcollawn@uab.edu

(205) 934-1002

Cell Biology

Christine Curcio, Ph.D. curcio@uab.edu (205) 996-8682 Opthalmology
Lawrence DeLucas, Ph.D. delucas@cbse.uab.edu (205) 934-5329 Optometry

Tim Garvey, Ph.D.

garveyt@uab.edu

(205) 934-6103

Nutrition Science

James F. George, Ph.D. 

jgeorge@uab.edu

(205) 934-4261

Surgery

Alecia Gross, Ph.D.

agross@uab.edu

(205) 975-8396

Vision Science

Eugenia Kharlampieva, Ph.D.

ekharlam@uab.edu

(205) 934-0974

Chemistry

Kevin Kirk, Ph.D.

klkirk@uab.edu

(205) 934-3122

Physiology & Biophysics

Robin Lorenz, Ph.D.

rlorenz@uab.edu

(205) 934-0676

Pathology

Farah Lubin, Ph.D. 

flubin@nrc.uab.edu

(205) 996-2242 

Neurobiology 

Mary MacDougall, Ph.D.

macdouga@uab.edu

(205) 996-5122

Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery

Lori McMahon, Ph.D.

mcmahon@uab.edu

(205) 934-3523

Physiology & Biophysics

Tim Nagy, Ph.D.

tnagy@uab.edu   

(205) 934-4088

Nutrition Sciences

Michael Niederweis, Ph.D. mnieder@uab.edu (205) 996-2711 Microbiology

Chandar Raman, Ph.D.

craman@uab.edu

(205) 934-2472

Immunology/Rheumatology

Sasanka Ramanadham, Ph.D.

sramvem@uab.edu

(205) 996-5973

Physiology and Biophysics

Rosalinda Roberts, Ph.D.

rcusidor@uab.edu

(205) 996-9373

Psych - Behavioral Neurobiology

Kevin Roth, MD, Ph.D. karoth@uab.edu (205) 934-5802 Pathology

Harry W. Schroeder, Jr., M.D., Ph.D. 

hwsj@uab.edu

(205) 934-4769

Immunology/Rheumatology

Rosa Serra, Ph.D.

rserra@uab.edu

(205) 934-0842

Cell Biology

John Shacka, Ph.D. shacka@uab.edu (205) 996-7252 Neuropathology

Harold Sontheimer, Ph.D.

Sontheimer@uab.edu

(205) 975-5805

Neurobiology

David Sweatt, Ph.D.

dsweatt@uab.edu

(205) 975-5196

Neurobiology

Trygve Tollefsbol, Ph.D.

trygve@uab.edu

(205) 934-4573

Biology

Hubert Tse, Ph.D. htse@uab.edu (205) 934-7037 Microbiology

Linda Wadiche, Ph.D. 

lwadiche@uab.edu  

(205) 996-6414 

Neurobiology 

Stephen Watts, Ph.D. 

sawatts@uab.edu  

(205) 934-2045 

Biology 

Qin Wang, Ph.D.

qinwang@uab.edu

(205) 996-5099

Physiology & Biophysics

Scott Wilson, Ph.D.

Livvy01@uab.edu

(205) 975-5573

Neurobiology

Mike Wyss, Ph.D.

jmwyss@uab.edu

(205) 934-6086

Cell Biology

Qinglin Yang, Ph.D.

qyang@uab.edu  

(205) 996-6022

Nutrition Sciences

Bradley Yoder, Ph.D.

byoder@uab.edu

(205) 934-0994

Cell Biology

 C. MERIT Teaching Mentors

Name

Email

Phone

School

Tabitha Hardy, Ph.D.

thardy@Stillman.edu (205) 366-8898 

Stillman College

Onesimus Otieno, Ph.D. ootieno@oakwood.edu (256) 726-7057

Oakwood University

Don Rufus Ranatunga, Ph.D.

donranatunga@oakwood.edu

(256) 726-7116

Oakwood University

Marlon Rhem, Ph.D.

mrhem@oakwood.edu

(256) 726-8437

Oakwood University

 

D. Executive Committee

Name

Email

Phone

MERIT Role

Julia Austin, Ph.D.

jaustin@uab.edu

(205) 975-6539 

Co-Director for Teaching Instruction 

Charlotte Carter, Ph.D.

ccarter@stillman.edu

(205) 366-8951 

Executive Committee At-Large Member

Kellie Rene' Carter, Ph.D. 

kcarter@uab.edu

(205) 934-8724

Executive Committee At-Large Member 

Louis Dale, Ph.D. 

ldale@uab.edu  

(205) 934-8762 

Executive Committee At-Large Member 

Jeffrey Engler, Ph.D.

engler@uab.edu

(205) 934-4734 

Executive Committee At-Large Member 

Mona N. Fouad, M.D.

mfouad@uab.edu  

(205) 934-4307 

Executive Committee At-Large Member 

Mary Jane Krotzer, Ph.D. 

mkrotzer@stillman.edu  

(205) 366-8929 

Co-Director for Institutional Liaison at Stillman College

Kenneth Lai-Hing, Ph.D. 

laihing@oakwood.edu

(256) 726-8463 

Co-Director for Institutional Liaison at Oakwood University

Bryan Noe, Ph.D.

bnoe@uab.edu

(205) 975-8852

Executive Committee At-Large Member

Susan M. Rich, Ph.D.

srich@uab.edu  

(205) 996-4835 

Executive Committee At-Large Member

Lisa Schwiebert, Ph.D.

lschwieb@uab.edu

(205) 934-3970 

Program Director

Scott Snyder, Ph.D.

ssnyder@uab.edu

(205) 934-8475 

Program Evaluator