Materials Processing and Applications Development (MPAD) Center

Core Faculty

uday 2

Uday Vaidya, Ph.D.
Center Director, Materials Processing and Applications Development (MPAD) Center;
Professor and Associate Chair, UAB Department of Materials Science & Engineering
(205) 934-9199; uvaidya@uab.edu
Research Interests: Composites applications development, Thermoplastic composites,
Concept to commercialization, Composites manufacturing, products and processes,
Dynamic response, NDE, Process simulation
Additional Info/Website: Dr. Uday Vaidya


 

faculty andrews

J. Barry Andrews, Ph.D.
Chairman and Professor, UAB Department of Materials Science & Engineering
(205) 934-8450
barry@uab.edu
Research Interests: Polymer and Metal Matrix Composites, Solidification, Physical Metallurgy
Additional Info/Website: J. Barry Andrews, Ph.D.

 


 

faculty chawlaDr. Krishan K. Chawla
Professor Emeritus, UAB Department of Materials Science & Engineering
(205) 975-9725
kchawla@uab.edu
Research Interests: Metal, Ceramic and Polymer Matrix Composite Materials; Fiber; Foams


 

faculty dean Derrick R. Dean, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, UAB Department of Materials Science & Engineering
(205) 975-4666
deand@uab.edu
Research Interests: Structure-Property Relationships of Polymers and Multiphase Polymer Systems, including Blends, Nano- and Micro-Composites

 


 

faculty foley Robin D. Foley, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Electron Optics Lab Manager, UAB Department of Materials Science & Engineering
(205) 934-8469
rfoley@uab.edu
Research Interests: Materials Characterization, Physical Metallurgy, and Metals Casting  
Additional Info/Website: Robin D. Foley, Ph.D.




faculty genau  

Amber Genau, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, UAB Department of Materials Science & Engineering
(205) 975-3271
genau@uab.edu
Research Interests: Solidification, Microstructure Analysis, 3D Image Characterization
Additional Info/Website: Dr. Amber Genau




griffin  
   John A. Griffin
   Research Assistant Professor, UAB Department of Materials Science & Engineering
   (205) 975-8461
   jagrif@uab.edu 
   Research Interests
: Metals Casting, Testing and Characterization, Nondestructive Evaluation
   Additional Info/Website: John A. Griffin 
     

 



faculty monroe2

 

Charles A. Monroe, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, UAB Department of Materials Science & Engineering;
(205) 934-8450
camonroe@uab.edu
Research Interests: Metals Casting, Design for Manufacture, Process Modeling



faculty ning

Haibin Ning, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor, UAB Department of Materials Science & Engineering
(205) 996-7390
ning@uab.edu
Research Interests: Polymer Matrix Composite Materials, Metals, Design and Modeling
Additional Info/Website: Dr. Haibin Ning



faculty pillay

Selvum (Brian) Pillay, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, UAB Department of Materials Science & Engineering
(205) 996-5797
pillay@uab.edu
Research Interests: Polymer Matrix Composite Materials, Manufacturing and Processing, Design for Manufacture
Additional Info/Website: Dr. Selvum Pillay

 


 

 vinoy 

  Vinoy Thomas, M. Phil., Ph.D.,
  Research Assistant Professor
  Department of Materials Science & Engineering
  UAB Center for Nanoscale Materials & Biointegration (CNMB)
  vthomas@uab.edu
  (205) 934 5013 
Research areas & Interests: Biomaterials/Bioinspired Materials, 3D Scaffolds for Tissue Engineering- Dental, Nanomaterials and Nanodiamonds for Biomedical & Therapeutic Applications, Polymeric composites/ Materials Chemistry, Processing-Structure Property Relationships; Chemistry and Surface Modifications
Additional Info/Website Dr. Vinoy Thomas