Contacts

Contacts
Front desk: (205) 934-3789
Fax: (205) 934-1301
Organizational Chart for the Office of the IRB
General e-mail:
IRB@uab.edu
Mail or delivery address:
Room 470, Administration Building (AB)
701 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35294-0104

SENIOR STAFF MEMBERS

Jonathan E. Miller, MPPA, CIP
Director
jonathanm@uab.edu
(205) 975-3919
  • Assignment to IRB 01 and IRB 02
  • Monitoring of informed consent process
  • Assist in training presentations
  • Response reviews
  • Amendment reviews
V. Leslie Cooper, CIP
Associate Director
lcooper@uab.edu
(205) 975-3933
  • Primary assignment to IRB 02 (protocol review)
  • Assist in the development of IRB policies and procedures
  • Oversight and coordination of IRB office
  • Oversight of training activities-scheduling of training presentations
  • Response reviews
  • Amendment reviews
Margie M. Lawson, CIP
Assistant Director
mlawson@uab.edu
(205) 975-3923
  • WIRB liaison
  • Assignment to IRB 01 and IRB 02
  • Monitoring of informed consent process
  • Assist in training presentations
  • Response reviews
  • Amendment reviews
Cari R. Oliver, CIP
Assistant Director
croliver@uab.edu
(205) 975-3931
  • Initial review of all Expedited, Exempt, and Not Human Subjects Research (NHSR) applications
  • Coordination of the expedited review process-including continuing reviews and terminations
  • Preliminary review of advertisements (print, radio, TV)
  • Coordination of review process with IRB Vice-Chair
Nancy I. Stansfield, RN, MSN, CIP
Assistant Director
nstansfield@uab.edu
(205) 975-3927
  • Initial and continuing review of Expedited, Exempt, and Not Human Subjects Research (NHSR) applications
  • Coordination of the expedited review process-including continuing reviews and terminations
Tracey Craddock, CCRP
Regulatory Compliance Manager
tcraddoc@uab.edu
(205) 975-3928
  • Regulatory audits/monitoring of protocols-internal and external
  • Ad hoc member of IRB Compliance Subcommittee
  • Preparation of IRB Investigators Guidebook
  • Preparation of policy and procedures



STAFF MEMBERS

Marlesa (Lesa) Rosato Burson, CCRP
Technical Writer
lrosato@uab.edu
(205) 975-3934
  • Preparation of minutes, letters, guidebooks, slide presentations, policy & procedures documents, Federalwide Assurance
Vanessa M. Champigny
Technical Writer
vchamp@uab.edu
(205) 975-3924
  • Preparation of minutes, letters, guidebooks, slide presentations, policy & procedures documents, Federalwide Assurance
  • Oversight of IRB training
Rodrick (Rod) E. Dilworth II
Protocol Analyst I
rod2@uab.edu
(205) 975-3929
  • Coordination of outgoing expedited review documents
  • Administrative support to IRB
Becki Dunn
Protocol Analyst I
bdunn@uab.edu
(205) 975-3921
  • Coordination of outgoing expedited review documents
  • Administrative support to IRB
J. Lee Griner, MA, CIP
Protocol Analyst II
lgriner@uab.edu
(205) 975-3926
  • Coordination of new full reviews
  • Management of web site
Sally B. Headley, CIP
Protocol Analyst II
sheadley@uab.edu
(205) 975-3922
  • Coordination of new full reviews
  • Coordination of centralized IRB reviews
Christopher Hill
Office Services Specialist III
cyh19697@uab.edu
(205) 975-3810
  • Administrative support to IRB
Michael Hill
Clinical Trials Administrator
mhillirb@uab.edu
(205) 975-3920
  • Assist in regulatory monitoring
Jovan S. Johnson
Program Coordinator I
jovansr@uab.edu
(205) 975-3932
  • Administrative support to IRB
Deidra Meredith
Protocol Analyst II
dmeredith@uab.edu
(205) 975-3978
  • Coordination of new full reviews
Position Vacant
Office Services Specialist III
(205) 934-3789
  • Office supply maintenance
  • Administrative support to IRB
Barbara Pearson
Office Services Specialist III
barpear@uab.edu
(205) 934-3810
  • Distribution and coordination of incoming mail
Candace C. Sparks
Technical Writer
carrollc@uab.edu
(205) 975-3925
  • Preparation of minutes, letters, guidebooks, slide presentations, policy & procedures documents, Federalwide Assurance
Sharon Von Hagel
Office Manager
vonhagel@uab.edu
(205) 975-0580
  • Coordination of weekly board meeting materials
  • Administrative support to IRB
Misty L. White, MA
Protocol Analyst II
mistylee@uab.edu
(205) 975-3930
  • Coordination of new full reviews
Christie K. Wilson
Protocol Analyst II
cknox@uab.edu
(205) 975-2800
  • Assist with the WIRB process
 
​​​​​​​​​