Contact Information

Contact Information

Front desk: (205) 934-3789
Fax: (205) 934-1301


Organizational Chart for the Office of the IRB

 General e-mail: 

  irb@uab.edu

Mailing address:
UAB office of the IRB
AB 470
1720 2nd Avenue South
Birmingham, AL 35294-0104

 

Physical address:
Administration Building(AB)
Room 470
701 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35294-0104

 

SENIOR STAFF MEMBERS

 

Jonathan E. Miller, MPPA, CIP
Director
jonathanm@uab.edu
(205) 975-3919
  • Directs the planning, operations, and support of the IRB
  • Ensures adherence to human subjects research regulations
  • Oversees accreditation activities
  • Acts as liaison with federal agencies
  • Develops policies and procedures
V. Leslie Cooper, CIP
Associate Director
lcooper@uab.edu
(205) 975-3933
  • Coordinates the Office of the IRB 
  • Assists in the development of policies and procedures
  • Oversees education and training 
  • Coordinates reviews via reliance agreements
Tracey Craddock, CCRP
Regulatory Compliance Manager
tcraddoc@uab.edu
(205) 975-3928
  • Regulatory audits/monitoring of protocols internal and external 
  • Ad hoc member of IRB Compliance Subcommittee
  • Coordinates accreditation activities
  • Preparation of policies and procedures
Sally B. Headley, CIP
Assistant Director
sheadley@uab.edu
(205) 975-3922
  • Coordinates review of amendments
  • Provides administrative review of protocols
  • Oversees continuing review of protocols
  • Provides education and training
Margie M. Lawson, CIP
Assistant Director
mlawson@uab.edu
(205) 975-3923
  • Coordinates review of protocols by WIRB
  • Provides administrative review of protocols
  • Oversees continuing review of protocols
  • Provides education and training
Cari R. Oliver, CIP
Assistant Director
croliver@uab.edu
(205) 975-3931
  • Coordinates review of Exempt and NHSR applications 
  • Provides administrative review of protocols
  • Oversees continuing review of protocols
  • Provides education and training
Nancy I. Stansfield, RN, MSN, CIP
Assistant Director
nstansfield@uab.edu
(205) 975-3927
  • Coordinates review of Expedited protocols
  • Provides administrative review of protocols
  • Oversees continuing review of protocols
  • Provides education and training



STAFF MEMBERS

Marlesa (Lesa) Rosato Burson, CCRP
Technical Writer
lrosato@uab.edu
(205) 975-3934
  • Prepares minutes, letters, guidebooks, slide presentations, and policy & procedures documents
  • Oversees IRB website
Hermieon Carter
Office Services Specialist III
hwcarter@uab.edu
(205) 934-3789
  • Office supply maintenance
  • Administrative support to IRB
Vanessa M. Champigny
Technical Writer
vchamp@uab.edu
(205) 975-3924
  • Prepares minutes, letters, guidebooks, slide presentations, and policy & procedures documents
  • Oversees IRB training
Rodrick (Rod) E. Dilworth II
Protocol Analyst I
rod2@uab.edu
(205) 975-3929
  • Coordinates expedited renewals
Becki Dunn
Protocol Analyst I
bdunn@uab.edu
(205) 975-3921
  • Coordinates expedited renewals  
J. Lee Griner, MA, CIP
Protocol Analyst II
lgriner@uab.edu
(205) 975-3926
  • Coordinates and reviews IRB applications
Christopher Hill
Office Services Specialist III
cyh19697@uab.edu
(205) 934-3810
  • Provides administrative support to IRB
Michael Hill
Clinical Trials Administrator
mhillirb@uab.edu
(205) 975-3920
  • Assists in regulatory audits/monitoring
Jovan S. Johnson
Program Coordinator I
jovansr@uab.edu
(205) 975-2800
  • Provides administrative support to IRB
Deidra Meredith
Protocol Analyst II
dmeredith@uab.edu
(205) 975-6896
  • Coordinates and reviews IRB applications
Barbara Pearson
Office Services Specialist III
barpear@uab.edu
(205) 975-3918
  • Provides administrative support to IRB
Candace C. Sparks
Technical Writer
carrollc@uab.edu
(205) 975-3925
  • Prepares minutes, letters, guidebooks, slide presentations, and policy & procedures documents
Sharon Von Hagel
Office Manager
vonhagel@uab.edu
(205) 975-0580
  • Oversees administrative support to IRB
  • Coordinates weekly board meeting materials
  • Pays invoices on behalf of the Office of the IRB
Position Open
Protocol Analyst II

  • Coordinates and reviews IRB applications 
Christie K. Wilson
Protocol Analyst II
cknox@uab.edu
(205) 975-3978
  • Coordinates and reviews expedited amendments
  • Assists with the WIRB process
Rowland D. Yancey, MEd, CIP
Protocol Analyst II
ryancey@uab.edu
(205) 975-5506
  • Coordinates and reviews IRB applications of new full reviews
 
 
 
 
​​​​​​​​​