By Matt Windsor

University Archivist Tim Pennycuff keeps a file of photos he calls “Buildings That Are No Longer Here.” The images provide a fascinating glimpse at UAB’s past lives. Here are some highlights:


Reynolds Library Building—Built in the 1950s next to the Kracke Building, this served as the original home to the Reynolds Historical Collection. After the collection moved to Lister Hill Library, the building was used for storage until the Pittman Center for Advanced Medical Studies was built in its place.


Roberts & Sons Printing—The university purchased this building, located at the corner of 19th Street and 6th Avenue South, and renovated it into an outpatient facility that predated Russell Ambulatory and The Kirklin Clinic. Wallace Tumor Institute and UAB Hospital’s North Pavilion currently are on the site.


Salvation Army Building Complex—Acquired as part of the 1958 urban-renewal project, this is now the site of the Eye Foundation Hospital.


The State Crippled Children and Rehabilitation Services Building—Once acquired by UAB, this building was renamed the Health Affairs Support Building and was used for hospital support activities, such as medical records storage and maintenance. The site is now home to the Boshell Building and the West Pavilion.


Jefferson County Health Department Building—Located on University Boulevard, this facility was torn down to make way for Tinsley Harrison Tower, and later, the McCallum Building.


Mortimer Jordan Hall—The longtime home of university administrative offices, this was originally a National Guard Armory. Tanks once were parked under the building, and there was a gymnasium in the back—two factors that contributed to Mortimer Jordan’s quirky charms. It was demolished to make room for the Shelby Biomedical Research Building.

Back to Top