On Saturday, February 24, the Zeta Chapter of Chi Sigma Iota, an honor society for students, counselors and counselor educators, held its annual initiation and awards ceremony. The ceremony recognized this year’s scholarship recipients, an inductee into the Counseling Hall of Fame, and new student initiates to the Zeta Chapter.

Tamela Hughes is the recipient of the Glenda R. Elliott Endowed Scholarship. This scholarship is given to a student who shows academic promise in the School of Education Counseling Program, so as to enable them to put their financial concerns aside while concentrating fully on their academic pursuits. The scholarship is named in honor of Dr. Glenda Elliott, Associate Professor Emerita of the UAB Counseling program.

Tamela Hughes is also the recipient of Zeta chapter’s Community Service scholarship. This $500.00 scholarship is awarded to the student who has a proven record of service in the community.

Ms. Anne LaRussa, founder of Oasis Counseling Center for Women and Children, was inducted into the Counseling Hall of Fame. This recognition is reserved for individuals associated with UAB’s Counseling program who have made a significant contribution to the counseling profession.

Ms. LaRussa graduated from UAB’s Counseling program with a degree in Agency Counseling in 1991 and went on to complete her Educational Specialist degree in Counseling at UAB in 1994. LaRussa was also president of the Zeta chapter during her time at UAB.

Oasis Counseling Center for Women and Children was founded in 1995 as an outgrowth of LaRussa’s graduate work in counseling at UAB. Ms. LaRussa’s vision was to provide mental health services and education at fees that every woman could afford. Today, Oasis is one of the few counseling centers in the state of Alabama providing services to women throughout their lifespan.

The Zeta chapter also initiated 36 new members into Chi Sigma Iota. This year’s initiates are:

  • Kasani Dejanay Bell
  • Britney F. Blackstock
  • Marshae Walker Black
  • Brittany L. Bradley
  • Jeremy Bryan
  • Emily Burt
  • Kayleigh Coleman Curry
  • Corey M. Ellis
  • Ashley Diane Hazlitt
  • Allison L. Hill
  • Francoise Hartley Horn
  • Tamela Marie Hughes
  • Richard Krebs
  • Amelia M. Lane
  • Rachel Lisbeth Saliba
  • Ashley Lann
  • Ashley Brook Loftis
  • Sarah Carter Mangham
  • Amber Nicole Martin
  • William J. McAdams
  • Melanie J. McGee
  • Kristin Swindle Penuel
  • Kristine L. Pike
  • Christine Ponte
  • Gabrielle Leighann Pybus
  • Kristin Graham Richman
  • Zaressa Richardson
  • Susan Rohwedder
  • Heidi Schreiber
  • Christine Barrett Tanner
  • Delecia Threatt
  • Paige M. Walker
  • Jennifer Lynn Watson
  • Carrienetta Wilbourn
  • Susie-Hannah Williams
  • Rebecca Louise Womack

Chi Sigma Iota is an international honor society that values academic and professional excellence in counseling. Its mission is to promote scholarship, research, professionalism, leadership, advocacy and excellence in counseling, and to recognize high attainment in the pursuit of academic and clinical excellence in the profession.