Explore UAB

Pilot Research Initiative RFP Learn more
Gabriela Oates

Gabriela Oates

Assistant Professor, Division of Pediatric Pulmonary & Sleep Medicine, Preventive Medicine, Heersink School of Medicine
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
(205) 638-9583

Dr. Oates is an Assistant Professor in the UAB Division of Pediatric Pulmonary and Sleep Medicine. She is an Associate Scientist in the UAB Cystic Fibrosis Research Center, the UAB Center for Outcomes and Effectiveness Research (COERE), and the UAB Minority Health & Health Disparities Research Center (MHRC). From 2006 to 2015, she was a research associate in the UAB Division of Preventive Medicine, served as the director of research of the UAB MHRC, and directed the pilot research programs of four large NIH-funded research centers. Oates received a Ph.D. in Medical Sociology from UAB in 2015, and additional research training through the UAB K12 Patient Centered Outcomes Research (PCOR) Program and the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Summer Institute on Randomized Behavioral Clinical Trials.

She investigates the impact of social determinants of health on clinical outcomes in chronic respiratory conditions. Oates is particularly interested in how the social and physical environments shape health-related behaviors. The ultimate goal of this work is to develop strategies for reducing the burden of socioeconomic disparities on child health. She is a site Principal Investigator (PI) of the Successful Therapies Research Consortium (STRC), funded by the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation; PI of two research projects and a career-development award; and co-PI on two training grants. She has published 20 peer-reviewed papers and two book chapters, and has presented at national and international conferences. In 2015, she was finalist for Junior Investigators Best Abstract in Clinical Research Award at the North American Cystic Fibrosis Conference. In 2017, her research productivity was recognized with a Research Supplement Award by the UAB Department of Medicine.