Skip to navigation Skip to main content

Explore UAB

Fifteen faculty members were honored April 20 at a ceremony recognizing the University of Alabama at Birmingham's outstanding mentors. The 2016 Graduate School Dean's Award for Excellence in Mentorship Ceremony drew more than 120 people to the Hill Student Center Ballroom to celebrate the honoree's achievements.

mentorship awards 2016 fullDr. Molly Carnes of the University of Wisconsin-Madison delivered a keynote address on the importance of mentorship, and Graduate School Dean Lori McMahon and Associate Dean of Graduate Biomedical Sciences David Schneider presented the awards. Award winners were given personalized plaques as well as memory books that contain the letters their mentees and colleagues wrote to nominate them for the honor.

Congratulations to all the 2016 excellent mentors:

  • Susan Bellis, Ph.D.
    Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology
  • Elizabeth Brown, Ph.D.
  • Yabing Chen, Ph.D.
  • Deek Cunningham, M.S.
    Occupational Therapy
  • Jeffrey Engler, Ph.D.
    Associate Dean, Graduate School
  • Candace Floyd, Ph.D.
    Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
  • Stuart Frank, M.D.
  • Amit Gaggar, M.D., Ph.D.
  • William Geisler, M.D.
  • Eugenia Kharlampieva, Ph.D.
  • Jacqueline Moss, Ph.D.
  • Lisa Schwiebert, Ph.D.
    Associate Dean, Postdoctoral Education
  • Jacques Wadiche, Ph.D.
  • Linda Overstreet Wadiche, Ph.D.
  • J. Michael Wyss, Ph.D.
    Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

Information about the call for 2017 nominations will be posted on the Dean's Award for Mentorship page when they are open (in fall 2016).

Back to Top