Skip to navigation Skip to main content

Explore UAB

The UAB Graduate Dean's Excellence in Mentorship Award recognizes full-time regular UAB faculty members who have demonstrated exceptional accomplishments as mentors of graduate students and/or postdoctoral fellows. Twenty-eight will be honored with the 2017 mentorship award April 6 at 2 p.m. in the Edge of Chaos.

Jabbar R. Bennett, Ph.D., Associate Provost and Chief Diversity Officer at Northwestern University, who will visit UAB's campus to participate in 2017 Mentoring Week activities, will share his remarks on the importance of mentorship at the awards ceremony. Award winners will be presented plaques as well as memory books that contain the letters their mentees and colleagues wrote to nominate them for the honor.

Before the awards ceremony, Dr. Bennett will deliver a keynote address at a lunchtime Mentoring Week event in the Edge of Chaos. Lunch will be provided at the noon event, and any honorees and their guests are welcome to attend the earlier event as well.

Congratulations to all the 2017 excellent mentors:

  • Stephen G. Aller, PhD
  • Marie A. Bakitas, DSN
    Nursing Acute, Chronic & Continuing Care
  • William J. Britt, MD
    Ped - Infectious Disease
  • Cynthia J. Brown, MD
    Med-Gerontology/Geriatrics/Palliative Care
  • Pi-Ling Chang, PhD
    Nutrition Sciences
  • Qiang Ding, PhD
    Med - Pulmonary/Allergy/Critical Care
  • Retta R. Evans, PhD
    Human Studies
  • James F. George, PhD
    Surgery - Cardiovascular/Thoracic
  • Orlando Gutierrez, MD
    Med- Nephrology
  • Mohammad Hassan, PhD
    Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery
  • Karen L. Heaton, PhD
    Nursing Acute, Chronic & Continuing Care
  • Virginia J. Howard, PhD
  • Suzanne E. Judd, PhD
  • Rajesh Kana, PhD
  • David C. Knight, PhD
  • Farah Lubin, PhD
  • Tonya Perry, PhD
    Curriculum Instruction
  • Marti Rice, PhD
    Nursing Family, Comm & Health Systems
  • Linda Roussel, PhD
    Nursing Family, Comm & Health Systems
  • Nitesh Saxena, PhD
    Computer & Information Sciences
  • Lalita Shevde-Samant, PhD
    Molecular & Cellular Pathology
  • Yuhua Song, PhD
    Biomedical Engineering
  • Despina Stavrinos, PhD
  • Nasim Uddin, PhD
    Civil, Construction & Environmental Engineering
  • Kristina M. Visscher, PhD
  • C. Roger White, PhD
    Med - Cardiovascular Disease
  • Martha Wingate, DrPH
    Health Care Organization & Policy
  • Frank Wolschendorf, PhD
    Med - Infectious Diseases


Information about the call for 2018 nominations will be posted on the Dean's Award for Mentorship page when it is open (in fall 2017).

Back to Top