Skip to navigation Skip to main content

Explore UAB

UAB Graduate School hosted its 2017 3 Minute Thesis competition Oct. 5 at the Hill Student Center Alumni Theater. There were nine finalists in both the Master's and Doctoral competitions. After much deliberation, the judges selected the top three competitors for the Master's and the top two for the Doctoral. The third place, or People's Choice, was chosen by the audience.

3 Minute Thesis logo.

The first place winner in the Doctoral Competition received $1,000. She will also go on to represent UAB at the 3MT regional competition at the Conference of Southern Graduate Schools in 2018. The second place winner received $750 and People's Choice received $500. The first place winner in the Master's Competition received $100; second place received $75; and third place received $50.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 3MT at UAB.

Doctoral Competition: 1st place - Kirsten Schoonover; 2nd place - Ahmed Elhattab; People's Choice - Benjamin Wildman

Master's Competition: 1st place - Austin Svancara; 2nd place - Heba Elsisi; 3rd place - Hilary Murrell

Winners of the 2017 3MT Doctoral Competition.
Winners of the 2017 3MT Master's Competition.

The Graduate School would like to thank all of our competitors and judges.

Back to Top