In recent years, several strategies have been employed by colleges and universities to achieve greater faculty diversity. Most of these efforts have focused on increasing the “numbers” of persons from diverse groups on faculties. It is clear that the acquisition of a critical mass of individuals from diverse groups is the important first step in achieving faculty diversity, but of course full faculty diversity requires much more than numbers – a climate of inclusion must be ingrained throughout the institution. An institutional climate in support of faculty diversity is essential for success.

Institutions must match their rhetoric on faculty diversity with action. Research shows that faculty diversity is enhanced by infrastructures in place that support it. And while recruitment of diverse faculty is important, mentoring and support leading to increased satisfaction and professional development are essential.

It is in this context that the School of Medicine has created The UAB Hispanic and Latin American Faculty Association led by Drs. Marcela Frazier, Fernando Ovalle, and Marisa Marques.

Hispanic Latinx Faculty 1
Dr. Marcela Frazier
Hispanic Latinx Faculty 3
Dr. Sixto Leal
Hispanic Latinx Faculty 2
Dr. James Willig (right)
Hispanic Latinx Faculty 6
Dr. Luciano Costa
Hispanic Latinx Faculty 4
Dr. Andre Ballesteros-Tato (left)
Hispanic Latinx Faculty 5
Dr. Eric Wallace

Mission/Vision

The UAB Hispanic and Latin American Faculty Association will foster, promote, and advocate for Hispanic and Latin American faculty while inspiring diversity, equity, and inclusion within the campus and healthcare community.

We will do this by:

  • Encouraging communication, networking, mentoring and professional development, as well as serving as a voice for cultural and educational concerns among our faculty
  • Serving to improve the recruitment and retention of Hispanic and Latin American faculty, trainees, and medical students and promote engagement within the School of Medicine
  • Advocating for the Hispanic and Latin American community to enhance multicultural awareness, diversity, and inclusion in healthcare

Members

Please choose a discipline below to view The UAB Hispanic and Latin American Faculty Association faculty members.

Cardiothoracic Surgery

GongoraEnrique Gongora
Country Connection: Colombia
Email: egongora@uab.edu
Learn More 



Erik HernandezErik Orozco Hernandez
Country Connection: Mexico
Email: beluc21@uab.edu 
Learn More




Genetics

No PhotoTatiana Marquez-Lago
Email: tmarquez@uab.edu
Learn More




Immunology

Andre Balleste

Andre Ballesteros-Tato
Country Connection: Spain
Email: aballest@uab.edu
Learn More


Medicine

Internal Medicine

Maria Acosta Lara

Maria Acosta Lara
Country Connection: Mexico
Email: pacosta@uab.edu
Learn More


Tiago ColicchioTiago Colicchio
Country Connection: Brazil
Email: tiagokc@uab.edu
Learn More


Orlando GutierrezOrlando Gutierrez
Email: ogutierr@uab.edu
Learn More



Gustavo HeudebertGustavo Heudebert
Country Connection: Peru
Email: gustavo@uab.edu
Learn More


No PhotoMaria Oquendo
Email: mariaoquendo@uab.edu
Learn More


No PhotoFernando Bril
Country Connection: Argentina
Email:  fbril@uabmc.edu



Halanych JewellJewell Halanych
Montgomery Regional Campus
Country Connection: Mexico
Email: jhalanych@uab.edu 
Learn More

Carlos EstradaCarlos Estrada
Country Connection: Peru
Email: cestrada@uab.edu
Learn More


No PhotoAlonso Heudebert
Email: aheudebert@uabmc.edu
Learn More



James WilligJames Willig
Country Connection: Republica Dominicana
Email: jwillig@uab.edu
Learn More

Subspecialties

Cardiology

Silvio PapapietroSilvio Papapietro
Country Connection: Chile
Email: spapapietro@uab.edu
Learn More


Jose TallajJose Tallaj
Country Connection: Dominican Republic
Email: jtallaj@uab.edu
Learn More


Endocrinology 

Carlos ArguelloCarlos Arguello
Email: carguell@uab.edu
Learn More



Ovalle FernandoFernando Ovalle
Country Connection: Mexico
Email: fovalle@uab.edu
Learn More


Henry ZeladacastroHenry Zelada
Country Connection: Peru
Email: henryzelada@uabmc.edu
Learn More

 

 Infectious Diseases

Ricardo FrancoRicardo Franco
Country Connection: Brazil
Email:  rfranco@uab.edu
Learn More


Martin RodriquezMartin Rodriguez
Country Connection: Peru
Email: mrodri2@uab.edu
Learn More

 

Nephrology 

 Eric WallaceEric Wallace
Email: Ericlwallace@uab.edu
Learn More



 Oncology

Costa LucianoLuciano Costa
Country Connection: Brazil
Email: lcosta@uab.edu
Learn More


Diego de IdiaquezLorena de Idiaquez Bakula
Country Connection: Peru
Email: idiaquez@uab.edu
Learn More


Antonio diStasi

Antonio diStasi
Country Connection: Italy
Email: adistasi@uab.edu
Learn More


Francisco Robert VizcarrondoFrancisco Robert-Vizcarrondo
Country Connection: Puerto Rico
Email: paco@uab.edu
Learn More

 

 Preventive Medicine

Isabel ScarinciIsabel Scarinci-Searles
Country Connection: Brazil
Email: scarinci@uab.edu
Learn More


Rheumatology 

 Angelo GaffoAngelo Gaffo
Country Connection: Peru
Email: agaffo@uab.edu
Learn More

 

 Tropical Medicine

 Herman HenostrozaGerman Henostroza
Country Connection: Peru
Email: germanh@uab.edu
Learn More

 

Microbiology

Carlos OrihuelaCarlos Orihuela
Email: corihuel@uab.edu
Learn More



Neurobiology

Pozzo MillerLucas Pozzo-Miller
Email: lucaspm@uab.edu
Learn More



Jacques WadicheJacques Wadiche
Email: jwadiche@uab.edu
Learn More



Neurology

No PhotoRocio Vazquez do Campo
Email:  rociovdc@uab.edu
Learn More



Natividad Stover
Natividad Stover
Country Connection: Spain
Email: npstover@uab.edu
Learn More


Ophthalmology

Ann MarieAnn Marie Arciniegas-Bernal
Country Connection: Colombia
Email: anama@uab.edu
Learn More


FrazierMarcela Frazier
Country Connection: Colombia
Email: mfrazier@uab.edu
Learn More 




Pathology

Daniel AthertonDaniel Atherton
Email: datherto@uab.edu
Learn More



Silvio LitovskySilvio Litovsky
Country Connection: Argentina
Email: slitovsk@uab.edu 
Learn More 



Manuel Lora GonzalezManuel Lora Gonzalez
Country Connection: Dominican Republic
Email: mlora@uab.edu
Learn More


Rosenblumdonath FridaFrida Rosenblum Donath
Country Connection: Ecuador
Email: frida@uab.edu
Learn More


JoselimaJose Lucio Lima
Country Connection: Brazil
Email: joselima@uab.edu
Learn More


Sixto LealSixto Leal
Country Connection: Cuba
Email: sleal@uab.edu
Learn More



Andrea KahnAndrea Kahn
Country Connection: Argentina
Email: akahn@uabmc.edu
Learn More



Cristina Magi GalluzziCristina Magi-Galluzzi
Country Connection: Italia
Email: cmagigalluzzi@uabmc.edu
Learn More



Marisa MarquesMarisa Marques
Country Connection: Brazil
Email: mmarques@uabmc.edu
Learn More



Diana MorloteDiana Morlote
Country Connection: Cuba
Email: dmorlote@uabmc.edu
Learn More


Carlos Prieto GranadaCarlos Prieto-Granada
Country Connection: Paraguay
Email: prietogc@uab.edu
Learn More


Pediatrics

No PhotoClaudia Gaviria Agudelo
Country Connection: Colombia
Email: cgaviria@uab.edu
Learn More


Molina AdolfoAdolfo Molina
Country Connection: Cuba
Email: amolina@uab.edu
Learn More


Subspecialties

Dev Pediatrics

 

Ada Peralta-CarcelenAda Peralta-Carcelen
Email Address: peralta@uab.edu
Learn More



Justin SchwartzJustin Schwartz
Country Connection: Puerto Rico
Email: jcschwa@uab.edu
Learn More


 

Pediatric Hem-Onc

 Ana XavierAna Galtarossa Xavier
Country Connection: Brazil
Email: axavier1@uab.edu
Learn More


Pediatric Cardiology

 

Erika MendozaplautErika Mendoza Plaut
Country Connection: Venezuela
Email: emend55@uab.edu
Learn More


Carlo WaldemarCarlo Waldemar
Email: wfcarlo@uab.edu



Pediatric Endocrinology

 Giovanna DeauchampGiovanna Beauchamp
Country Connecation: Puerto Rico
Email: drgio@uab.edu
Learn More


Pediatric Gastro

Vanessa CardenasVanessa Cardenas Soto
Email: vanescar@uab.edu
Learn More


Pediatric Nephrology

 David AskenaziDavid Askenazi
Email: daskenaz@uab.edu
Learn More


Neonatology

Wally CarloWaldemar Carlo
Email: wacarlo@uab.edu
Learn More



Ariel SalasAriel Salas
Email: asalas@uab.edu
Learn More

 

Pediatric Neurology

 Michael LopezMichael Lopez
Email: mikelope@uab.edu
Learn More


Pediatric Pulmonology

Beltran Ale GuillermoGuillermo Beltran-Ale
Country Connection: Peru
Email: gbeltranale@peds.uab.edu
Learn More


Gutierrez HectorHector Gutierrez
Country Connection: Chile
Email: pulmon@uab.edu
Learn More


Virella LowellAnis Nourani
Country Connection: Brazil
Email: anourani@peds.uab.edu
Learn More


Virella LowellIsabel Virella-Lowell
Country Connection: Spain and Portugal
Email: ilowell@uab.edu
Learn More



Plastic Surgery

De la TorreJorge de la Torre
Email: jdlt@uab.edu
Learn More



Psychiatry

Jesse Tobias MartinezJesse Tobias Martinez
Email: tobiasjm@uab.edu
Learn More




Rosalinda RobertsRosalinda Roberts
Country Connection: Spain
Email: rcusidor@uab.edu
Learn More




Radiology

Daniel GoldbergDaniel Goldberg-Zimring
Country Connection: Mexico
Email: dgoldberg@uab.edu
Learn More



Watch Past Zoom Meetings

Please click one of the session topics below to watch the full recording. 

Dr. Pozzo-Miller: Hispanic and Latin American Faculty Association Meeting

Session Leader: Dr. Pozzo-Miller

Dr. Lucas Pozzo-Miller, Ph. D, professor in the Departments of Neurobiology, Neurology, Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology, and Psychology, speaks to his experience as a Hispanic/Latin American researcher.

 

Telehealth Al Tiro: How COVID-19 Changed Healthcare Delivery Forever

Session Leader: Dr. Eric Wallace

The UAB Hispanic and Latin American Faculty Association meeting for June 2021 included guest speaker, Eric Wallace, M.D.

Dr. Wallace is an Associate Professor in the Department of Nephrology and the Medical Director for Telehealth in the UAB Health System.

During this meeting, he shared:

  • His background and his mother’s story;
  • His experience creating the telehealth network at UAB;
  • Some of the data on Hispanics and disparities in telehealth; and
  • The attempts to do telehealth outside of the U.S. (specifically, Peru).