Established from the Racial Justice Work Group, to help identify priorities for our school, the Staff Diversity Liaisons was created to increase support and programming for the professional advancement of underrepresented staff at the Heersink School of Medicine.

To assemble the group, we asked each department and campus to appoint one staff person for this role—though large departments had the option of appointing more than one representative. 

Members of the group are expected to:

  • Have an interest in enhancing the diversity of the SOM and building a more inclusive environment for all.
  • Advise ODI and provide feedback and input on our priorities, initiatives, activities, and issues.
  • Help us understand the various cultures within our departments—their needs, and how they may best be supported.

We are excited to have the advice and knowledge of the Staff Diversity Liaisons working alongside our ODI team. Below is a complete list of each department and its representative.

If you have questions about the Staff Diversity Liaisons, feel free to contact the liaison listed below for your department, or contact ODI Program Director, Dr. Leisha Hultgren at lhultgre@uab.edu.

Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine

Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine

Debbie Owen
dmowen@uabmc.edu

Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Tomeka Wilson
wilsont@uab.edu

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

Megan Rollins
meganr22@uab.edu

Dermatology

Dermatology

Jami Armbrester
jkarmbrester@uabmc.edu

Emergency Medicine

Emergency Medicine

Whitney Covington
wcovington@uabmc.edu

Family and Community Medicine (1/2)

Family and Community Medicine (1/2)

Adrienne Fowler-Payne
alfowler@uabmc.edu

Family and Community Medicine (2/2)

Family and Community Medicine (2/2)

Shyla K. Fields
skcampbell@uabmc.edu

Genetics

Genetics

Tanya Wiggins
twigg@uab.edu

Medical Education

Medical Education

Erica Brown
ebrown@uab.edu

Medicine (1/6)

Medicine (1/6)

Medicine (2/6)

Medicine (2/6)

Claire Auriemma
caur@uab.edu

Medicine (3/6)

Medicine (3/6)

Tatiana Torres Herman
ttherman@uabmc.edu

Medicine (4/6)

Medicine (4/6)

Samuel Boadu
sboadu@uabmc.edu

Medicine (5/6)

Medicine (5/6)

Mischell Massey, MBA
mischellmassey@uabmc.edu

Medicine (6/6)

Medicine (6/6)

Landon Wood
ldwood@uabmc.edu 

Microbiology

Microbiology

Bruce McEntyre
bdmc@uab.edu

Neurobiology

Neurobiology

Lara Ianov
lianov@uab.edu

Neurology

Neurology

Shirley Gibbs
sgibbs@uabmc.edu

Neurosurgery

Neurosurgery

Jennifer Lancaster
jllancaster@uabmc.edu 

Obstetrics & Gynecology

Obstetrics & Gynecology

Ophthalmology

Ophthalmology

Carlon Harris
caharris@uabmc.edu

Orthopaedic Surgery

Orthopaedic Surgery

Dominique Square
squared@uab.edu 

Otolaryngology

Otolaryngology

Sharon Jacobs
scjacobs@uabmc.edu

Pathology

Pathology

Monica Henderson
maraula3@uab.edu  

Pediatrics (1/2)

Pediatrics (1/2)

Adrianne Marbury
amarbury@peds.uab.edu

Pediatrics (2/2)

Pediatrics (2/2)

Latrice Feggins
lfeggins@uabmc.edu

Pharmacology/Toxicology

Pharmacology/Toxicology

LaShun Lanier
llanier@uab.edu

Psychiatry

Psychiatry

Nicole Guyton
nguyton@uabmc.edu

Radiology

Radiology

Leema Lutfi
llutfi@uabmc.edu

Radiation Oncology

Radiation Oncology

Selina Todd
stodd@uabmc.edu

Surgery

Surgery

Jeffery Steele
jtsteele@uabmc.edu

Urology

Urology

Huntsville Regional Medical Campus

Huntsville Regional Medical Campus

Kimberly Berger
kberger@uabmc.edu